February 2015 Monthly Recap

Hello!

Monthly RecapToday’s Love List is being replaced with something I hope is equally as fun: a monthly recap for February! I can never grasp how quickly time flies by, and before I know it, I’ll be counting down the days until summer vacation. In the meantime, here’s a round-up of what happened on Ciao Bella last month. How was your February?

Highlights: Shopping My February was a month for Boden shopping; I grabbed several stylish pieces at the semi-annual Boden Sale in Boston and bought this cute sweater with a Christmas gift card. My parents also recognized my love for shopping and gifted me a shopping bag charm from Chamilia’s now-retired Disney Collection for Valentine’s Day. Lots of cute pieces to wear into spring! :)

One-Act Play Festival Another highlight of my month? Participating in the preliminary rounds of a one-act play festival last weekend. Although my school’s play is not moving on, I had such a fun day and will treasure the experience for a lifetime!

Lit-Up Review Finally, February ended on a good note when I learned I was one of seven new contributors to Lit Up Review! I am so honored to join a group of other lovely bookworms, and I am excited to work with them all throughout the year. My first post will be up in a few weeks, but you can see my contributor bio HERE!

All Four Stars{Can we all say how adorable Tara Dairman’s debut is?! This middle grade foodie adventure was a delight from beginning to end.}

Reads: I reviewed all of the novels I read in January, some of which were good, some of which were great, and some of which are new favorites of mine!

  • Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas | “A delightful mix of adorable holiday situations, hilarious grocery store secrets, and so awkward, it’s cute moments, this is a book that will have you smiling from beginning to end.”
  • Famous Last Words by Katie Alender | “Famous Last Words isn’t an ultimate favorite for me, but its chilling plot, unique premise, and addictive suspense makes it a must for horror fans.”
  • All Fall Down by Ally Carter | “The novel is a welcome addition to my bookshelf, and it truly shows why Ally Carter is a beloved – and skilled – author for the young adult market. I know I’ll be gushing about All Fall Down for months to come, but I’m thankfully in good company!”
  • All Four Stars by Tara Dairman | “Like the tasty treats this novel’s adorable protagonist whips up, All Four Stars is a demonstration of outstanding skill.”
  • The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds | “YA contemporary fans should be adding this to their TBR list, if they are not already rushing to the store for their own copy. Reynolds has made his name in young adult fiction, and I hope – but, frankly can’t see – him leaving anytime soon.”
  • Manhunt by Kate Messner | “I’m disheartened to say that it didn’t match my enjoyment of Capture the Flag and Hide-and-Seek, but I still encourage fans to continue on with Anna, José, and Henry’s tale.”
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins | “I can see why this book has such a dedicated {and large!} following of fans, but I, for one, never clicked with Anna or her story.”

Nine seems to be my lucky number; I added nine more novels to my book count last month! That 100 novel goal for the end of the year seems all the more manageable.

February 2015 Books{Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literacy Characters not pictured}

I have a backlog of reviews to write up and post, so keep an eye out!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana BreadEats: I posted two recipes for you to make and eat: an easy update to chocolate chip cookies and my three favorite flavors, peanut butter, chocolate, and bananas, blended in one loaf.

Valerie McKeehan{I find chalkboard art so impressive, and Valerie McKeehan’s pieces are no exception.}

More: I love a good feature – they are just so fun to write up! In February, I fit in another musical moodboard {last month’s inspiration was the whimsical production, Mary Poppins}, a Style Snapshot fit for Valentine’s Day {although, let’s be honest, pink is good all year long}, and another round of Eye on Art. I also participated in Book Blogger Love-a-Thon for the first time; catch my introduction post HERE and my author valentines HERE.

J Crew-Presentation Backstage-fashion-week-caroline-donofrio{via A Cup of Jo}

Favorites: With the updates to Bloglovin’, I was saving plenty of posts from my favorite blogs. Here are a select few!

  • On and off the runway shots from Fashion Week popped up everywhere in February, but this fun guide to looking like a J.Crew model was the best look behind the scenes. A Cup of Jo nailed it, once again!
  • Regina’s tips for social media are invaluable for bloggers. Be warned though: one click to her site, and you’ll be scrolling through her informative posts for days!
  • Kimberly’s font pairing guides are clear, colorful, and helpful! I’m bookmarking them to use for future design projects, and I encourage you to do the same.
  • Are we obsessed with Florence and the Machine, or are we obsessed with Florence and the Machine?! I absolutely love her latest single.
  • Finally, Deb from Smitten Kitchen always has me ready to head to the kitchen. I have no reason to make chocolate cake, because it’s an “I want chocolate cake” cake, I see no reason why I couldn’t :)

Looking Ahead March{via My Cute Graphics}

Looking Ahead: Although I can’t wait for the official start to spring, trimester finals, statewide tests, and Daylights Savings Time {I can’t be the only one who is thrown off by the time change} makes March seem all-too long. Nevertheless, I’m looking forward to seeing Cinderella in theaters, reading several new releases, and wearing at least one dress by the end of the month!

Have a terrific weekend!
B

4 thoughts on “February 2015 Monthly Recap

  1. Congrats on being chosen to be part of the Lit-Up Review Team! I recently discovered their blog, and I love it! You had a much better reading month than me as I only read three books. *hangs head in shame* School just got really busy and the time flew by. Hopefully in the upcoming month I’ll be able to read All Four Stars and All All Down because they both seem like wonderful books.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I am so excited to join them :) And three books isn’t bad! I’ve totally had my fair share of slow reading months, but snow days and school vacation made it easier to blow through books. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on both All Fall Down and All Four Stars if you give them a try!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Say Hello!