My Twelve Favorite Books of the Past Three Years

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayMy least favorite question is “What is your favorite book?” Reading near one hundred books a year, I find it so difficult to narrow down my reading experience to just one novel! {For time’s sake, I usually go with the classic, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee}. Fortunately, The Broke and The Bookish‘s feature, Top Ten Tuesday, allows me to share more than just one book for this week’s topic: Books You Would Classify as Your All-TIme Favorites from the Past Three Years. I’ve have been blogging for just over three years now, so making up my list only required a look through my past reviews. It was challenging, but the following twelve novels are ones I would return to again and again with glee.

Favorite Reads Since Blogging[1] Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein • It took me a couple of times before I fell in love with Code Name Verity {I’m sure I’m not the only one who finds some historical fiction hard to get into}, but I am so glad I stuck with this WWII-set novel. Wein’s endless amount of research pours out of the pages, and her writing is captivating. I couldn’t put it down, finished it in one afternoon, and now declare Elizabeth Wein one of my most favorite authors with confidence. You’re missing out if you haven’t read it.

[2] Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell • Over the past three years, many young adult novels have become bestsellers for teens and YA-loving adults. Whether it’s due to the author’s reputation and emotional story {The Fault in Our Stars, anyone?!}, an adaptation hitting the big screen {that would be If I Stay, by the always amazing Gayle Forman}, or because it is just so good, like Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, you can hardly go wrong with these popular reads. I loved – and still do! – Rowell’s novel, and I urge you to read it if you haven’t already.

[3] Winger by Andrew Smith • Andrew Smith is known for his bizarre, yet well-written, stories {i.e. not everyone’s cup of tea :)}, but Winger is a must-read, regardless of your reading preferences. Authentic, humorous, and intense all at once, Winger lives up to its eye-catching cover. My only regret?! I never wrote a review when I read it a couple of years ago, giving me the perfect excuse to re-read it this spring.

[4] Cinder by Marissa Meyer • You would have to be living under a rock to never have heard of Marissa Meyer’s ever-so popular The Lunar Chronicles; they have dominated the bookseller and book blogger world for several years now. The novels are all winners, but I gave Cinder, the first book, a shout-out. Even I, who doesn’t read much in the science-fiction and fantasy genres, adored Book One, and I cannot wait to see how the saga wraps up later this year.

[5] Something Real by Heather Demetrios • I’ve lost count at how many times I’ve praised Heather Demetrios’ debut, Something Real. I suppose there’s only so many times I can say read it for its superb characterization, compelling story, and wonderful writing! I rarely come across a novel that takes priority over my homework, so do take note: Something Real should be on your TBR list {as well as Demetrios’ other novels, since I’m convinced she can do no wrong as an author}.

[6] Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson • I could have easily put any of Matson’s books on this list, because, like Demetrios, Morgan Matson is a master in the young adult genre. However, Second Chance Summer has an emotional depth that’s hard to overlook. I never have a problem recommending her books to realistic fiction fans.

Favorite Reads Since Blogging[7] A Tangle of Knots by Lisa Graff • My favorite middle grade novels deserve the spotlight as well, such as Lisa Graff’s A Tangle of Knots. A perfect blend of magic, realism, and charm, this book made me a Lisa Graff fan forever and ever. The whimsical story is more detailed and layered than it first lets on, and if that doesn’t hint at Graff’s skill, I don’t know what will! A companion novel is set to release next year, so there’s no time to lose in grabbing your own copy.

[8] Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne • I debated including Monument 14 on this list because, if anything, it’s a “guilty pleasure” of mine, but the addictive story and fleshed out dystopian world won a spot. Laybourne’s series isn’t perfect, but it is oh-so successful in hooking the reader from page one. I speak from experience; start now, and you won’t stop until you’ve reached the final page of the third book, Savage Drift.

[9] The Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine • I’m saddened that I rarely see Kristin Levine’s books publicized online. Her historical fiction novels may be aimed at the middle grade audience, but I can’t see why any age – kid, teen, or adult – wouldn’t enjoy them. What I find so impressive about her work, as is the case with her debut, The Lions of Little Rock, is that she presents historical material in an engaging and fully developed way, avoiding the dreaded history textbook like style.

[10] Spy School by Stuart Gibbs • Spy School is another novel I can’t go a month without mentioning in a post, but praise it again I will! I have little doubt that avid middle grade readers, humor seekers, and budding spies will all enjoy Gibb’s series {or ANY of his books}. Save me the words, and read it as soon as you can :)

[11] Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone • I picked up Stone’s novel on a whim; I had heard some good things about it, and the designer in me loved the pale blue cover. Little did I no that it would soon become book one of my most beloved companion series {Time After Time is its sequel}! I could spend hours discussing how much I enjoyed it.

[12] Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian • Finally, Burn for Burn is one of my more recent reads, but I don’t think I’ve said how much I LOVE it over the past few months. Like many of the novels on this list, I didn’t suspect that Han and Vivian’s collaboration would rank among my favorites, but that’s the beauty of finding a good book, right?!

What novels would you call your favorites from the past few years?

Have a lovely day!
Bella

17 thoughts on “My Twelve Favorite Books of the Past Three Years

  1. Eleanor & Park is SO GOOD! All of her books are great, actually, although I have yet to read Landline. I’ve wanted to read Cinder for the longest time because I love fairy tale retellings!

    Like

    • I haven’t read Fangirl yet, even though it’s been on my TBR list forever! And, YES to Cinder; if you like fairy tale retellings and don’t mind science-fiction with your fantasy, you’ll LOVE the Lunar Chronicles.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know many people who have read, much less adored, The Time Between Us, so you get a huge thumbs up from me. And thank you for following! I’m swamped with homework {taking a mid-study break to moderate comments, of course}, but as soon as I get the chance, I’ll be heading your site’s way :)

      Like

  2. My go-to response is always To Kill a Mockingbird because it really is my favorite book, but there are so many other books that I’ve fallen in love with, and all really deserve attention. I loved reading Code Name Verity. Elizabeth Wein’s writing drips with honesty, and I love that because it makes me connect with her characters so much more. Besides, I always love a good historical fiction. I have yet to read The Lions of Little Rock, but I’ve seen it at my library so I’ll have to pick it up sometime.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Wein is an outstanding author, and I think you summed up her writing style perfectly! I can’t wait to read Black Dove, White Raven when it comes out this month.

      Like

  3. I’m so glad to see Time Between Us on here! I picked it up at the library a few months ago but didn’t get around to reading it. Now I definitely want to!

    Like

  4. Those sound good! I’m always looking for books to read! Sadly a really good book is sometimes hard to find, but I’ll have to look into those! I can’t wait to read Eleanor & Park, that one has been on my list! (It looks so cute!) I loved Cinder too, so good…

    Have you read The Selection books?

    Like

Say Hello!