March 2015 Monthly Recap

Hello!

Monthly RecapI hope your spring is coming along smashingly – we’ve already made it to April! Before warm weather, colorful flowers, and green grass come onto the horizon, I wanted to take a look back on my March. It was busy, to say the least. How was your first month of spring?

Highlights: There wasn’t much to highlight in March, because I can only think of one word to describe it: school. As the trimester wrapped up in the middle of the month, my free time was dominated with study guides for finals, lab reports to write up for chemistry, and reports to write on Lord of the Flies. Unfortunately, this made for a stressful few weeks and leads to a rather boring Highlights section – no fun, if you ask me.

I'll Meet You There{Heather Demetrios delivered once again with her newest contemporary, I’ll Meet You There. The touching story of high school graduate, Skylar, and former Marine, Josh, is an absolute must-read!}

Reads: March brought a handful of new book reviews, including my thoughts on my first re-read of the year and the third installment in Marissa Meyer’s ever-so popular series, The Lunar Chronicles.

  • The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June by Robin Benway | “I’m on the fence, but I going to say I will probably not re-read The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June for a third time. I’m glad I gave it a second look, but upon finishing it, I felt satisfied.”
  • I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios | “Demetrios’ second standalone novel is a masterpiece, clearly worthy of the attention, praise, and fandom it has received across social media. I would encourage you to read it, but I have no doubt you’re already rushing to find your own copy. “
  • The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh | “I am not a fan of Twinkies, but fortunately, the same dislike does not apply to Kat Yeh’s debut novel; I adored it, no other comments needed.”
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer | “At 550 pages, Cress doesn’t appear like a quick read, but Meyer’s well-paced and captivating plot may have you thinking otherwise. I was turning pages all night to see what was in store for Cress and Throne; Cinder and friends; and Scarlett.”
  • Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky | “This is not a debut to set aside, but a book to read as soon as you can. I can’t recommend Gracefully Grayson enough. Endless snaps for Ami Polonsky.”
  • The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall {posted on Lit Up Review} | “As someone who will devour any spy novel or mystery placed in front of her, I’m delighted to call The Conspiracy of Us an absolute winner of a debut… Packed with thrills, glamour, and young love, The Conspiracy of Us will have you hooked from page one.”

Even with finals to study for and after-school activities to attend, I managed to fit in quite a few books in March – fourteen, in fact! I’m not sure how my reading rate has increased so much, but I’ll happily take it if it means my TBR list grows smaller.

March 2015 BooksOf course, this means there are many more book reviews on the way for April :)

Malted Milk, Oatmeal, and Chocolate Chip CookiesEats: A month never goes by without me sharing a few recipes, such as these two cookie jar favorites: Malted Milk, Oatmeal, and Chocolate Chip Cookies and Black and White Chocolate Chip Cookies. Yum and yum.

Slide1{I was delighted that Sarah McGuire guest posted in March as part of The Last List Blog Hop; I can’t wait to read Valiant when it comes out in June!}

More: These fun features make regular appearances on Ciao Bella: Eye on Art {last month, I showcased three artists with a talent for illustration and letter design}, Musical Moodboards {March’s production of choice? Aladdin, a stunning – and colorful – show on Broadway}, and Style Snapshots {my spring-loving heart clearly inspired last month’s round-up of floral pieces}. The Broke and the Bookish had so many good topics in March that I couldn’t help but participate four times in Top Ten Tuesday; catch my favorite books of the past three years, my favorite middle grade mysteries, my spring TBR list, and ten books I recently added to Goodreads. Finally, I was part of Cuddlebuggery’s Last List Bog Hop and was honored to host Sarah McGuire, debut author and fairy tale lover.

Gal Meets Glam{via Gal Meets Glam}

Favorites: Narrowing down this section is a difficult task, and March proved no different. Here are a few lovely favorites from my Bloglovin’ feed.

  • Erin’s insightful and well-crafted posts are a breath of fresh air. Her metaphorical piece on social media envy, cleverly titled “The Apple,” is definitely worth a read.
  • Cee is a book blogger, typography fan, and all-around cool person, so it’s no wonder I enjoy her site, The Novel Hermit, so much! Her newest feature, Essential Reading, is such a clever series, inviting authors to share books their characters would read.
  • I love my friend Paulina for a multitude of reasons, but her confidence is one of her most admirable traits. Her post on how to love yourself includes several terrific tips, including this memorable quote: “You do enough. You have enough. You are enough.” Spot-on.
  • While I’m aware it’s unfair to compare my wardrobe with that of a professional fashion blogger, I’m always envious of how chic Julia looks in her posts at Gal Meets Glam. Her pink sweater and striped skirt ensemble is a recent example of her superb sense of style.
  • Finally, browning butter is an essential skill for any home baker. It took me several tries to learn the best method, however, so I’m happy to pass on Joy’s helpful guide with step-by-step photos.

Looking Ahead to April{via My Cute Graphics}

Looking Ahead: April is already shaping up to be wonderful. Easter is on its way this weekend, my drama department’s trip to New York is only a few weeks away, and I have spring break to look forward to at the end of the month! With a few birthdays to celebrate and several great books to read as well, I know I have a good month ahead.

Have a great Wednesday!
Bella

4 thoughts on “March 2015 Monthly Recap

  1. Wow, 14 books!? You go, girl! March was a really busy month for me in school… I thoughts senior year was supposed to get easier as the year goes on, but it keeps ramping up and up! I at least hope that the snow melts soon so that it feels more like spring. Happy April! :)

    Like

    • I know – as the weather gets warmer, school should slow down! Alas, that’s never the case, but one can dream, right?! :) Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

Say Hello!

