Code Name Verity: A Book Review

Hi!

Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Summary: Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun. When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution. As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. By far, one of the my most favorite novels of the year! :) To be truthful, this was the fourth time I took this out of the library. I had to return it the first two times because it was due, and the third time I couldn’t get myself to read past the first two chapters. I Am truly happy that I picked it up one last time because once I read the first fifty pages or so, I was hooked.

Code Name Verity tells the story of two girls during World War II – Julie, a spy, and Maddie, a pilot. What was so incredible about the characters was the dynamics between them all. Maddie and Julie’s relationship was so richly crafted that, as the reader, you could easily feel the emotion behind all their decisions. I was torn at the end! Every event leading up to the last fifty pages or so contributed into the development of the two main characters. Can I also mention how nice it was to see such a string example of girl power?! Characters like Maddie and Julie do not come often so cherish the while you can.

As I mentioned above, the first few chapters move very slowly, and I found it hard to get into. The only reason I stuck with it was that so many people raved about it, so I wanted to know why. Once you connect with the story and everyone involved, you are on your way! Another thing to mention is that there are many details, like names of people and aircraft, certain battles and locations, that it can be hard to keep up. I won’t even try to explain the effort the author must have out in, because half the time, I was getting all the planes mixed up! :) I think that as long as you can keep the basic plot and characters straight, the story will definitely have the same effect

Elizabeth Wein has written a beautiful novel that explores a topic with many emotions behind it. She did a terrific job, and I am eagerly awaiting her next book coming out in the fall!

Pros: Strong, developed characters and engaging plot.

Cons: Lots of details that were hard to keep track of sometimes.

Heads Up: The descriptions of the tactics used in war were pretty thorough, and the plot might scare off more squeamish readers. There is some language to be weary of as well.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

I hope your Fourth of July was wonderful!
B

9 thoughts on “Code Name Verity: A Book Review

  1. […] [1] Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein • It took me a couple of times before I fell in love with Code Name Verity {I’m sure I’m not the only one who finds some historical fiction hard to get into}, but I am so glad I stuck with this WWII-set novel. Wein’s endless amount of research pours out of the pages, and her writing is captivating. I couldn’t put it down, finished it in one afternoon, and now declare Elizabeth Wein one of my most favorite authors with confidence. You’re missing out if you haven’t read it. […]

    Like

Say Hello!

