Second Chance Summer: A Book Review

Hello!

Second Chance Summer

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Summary: Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains. Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve. As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love. {via}

My Thoughts: *Spoilers! I looovveee Morgan Matson’s books. LOVE them! Second Chance Summer has been on my radar for a year, so I was beyond excited to receive a copy for my birthday. Umm, but because of a very big number of library books that were due, this was put aside until last week :) After finishing it, I can tell you right now that it was amazing! The story is about Taylor, who has learned that her dad only has three months left to live. Obviously, this is one of the saddest things to ever hear, yet Taylor’s family is trying to stay upbeat about it. They decide to spend their last summer together at their lake house in the Pocono Mountains. Taylor hasn’t been to the lake house in years, and she would have liked it to keep it that way, but it about time she learns to face her problems, instead of running away in fear. I liked how honest and raw Taylor was. Matson really let us get inside of Taylor’s head, and we learned about her mistakes and accomplishments. She wasn’t perfect {no character ever is} but what was different about her was that she was more realistic. I could see her in any school or town, trying to deal with her dad’s devastating news, but having no one to turn too. Her parents were supportive, and you could tell that they loved her with all their heart, but I think Taylor didn’t feel comfortable talking about the fact that her dad could die any day now, nor did her parents. Her brother, Warren, was too focused on his schoolwork {that was kind of his way to deal with stress and grief} and she didn’t have the best relationship with her little sister, Gelsey. {don’t you just love that name!?} Even worse, her childhood friends, Lucy and Henry haven’t forgotten what she did to them five summers ago. Anyhoo, Taylor was well-developed, and held her own after such a terrific narration from Amy of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour {the author’s other book} Moving on… I adored Warren. He was so sweet, and extremely likeable. I actually liked his random facts of trivia, unlike the rest of his family :) I loved his relationship with Wendy, and I thought they were made for each other. Gelsey wasn’t as fun, but still developed. Sometimes she was a little bratty, but I take it that it was from everything happening in her life. Taylor’s dad was the best. The messages that he prepared were so so sweet, and I cried when he died. I knew it was coming, but it was beautifully written and I just wasn’t prepared. I liked Henry. Was he Roger? No, but I think in this book, he was the perfect fit for Taylor. And that whole “let me break up with the nicest guy to protect him” thing? You are insane, Taylor. Insane :) Lucy was cool too, and I’m glad that she and Taylor could move on from their past and reconnect. Overall, this was  another beautiful book, and totally worth the wait.

Pros: Developed characters and well-written story. {BTW, wasn’t it nice that Amy and Roger made an appearance?}

Cons: None!

Heads Up: Romance and some language.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Bella :)

8 thoughts on “Second Chance Summer: A Book Review

Say Hello!

