2015 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon Author Valentines

Hi!

For the next post in the Book Blogger Love-a-Thon {read about it HERE!}, participants were challenged to create valentines – it is February, after all – for their favorite book character or author. I decided to write about my favorite authors; I couldn’t stick to one, so I am honoring ten outstanding writers! The following individuals have all impressed me with their books, and I love supporting them as a fan. And extra special thank you to My Cute Graphics for providing the adorable clipart for my valentine images.

Ally CarterI have been a longtime reader of Ally Carter’s books, first picking up I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You in elementary school. I haven’t stopped devouring her books since then, right up to her newest 2015 release, All Fall Down. She’s made her name in the YA world, but if you haven’t yet checked out one of Carter’s novels, I urge you to do so. Espionage fans will not be disappointed! {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6}

Emery LordAlthough the only book by Emery Lord I have had the chance to read is her 2014 debut, Open Road Summer, I have no problem listing her as one of my favorite authors. With just one novel, she proved her talent as an emerging young adult author; her characters leap off the page with their authenticity and true-blue friendship. I can’t wait to read her next book this spring!

Heather DemetriosHeather Demetrios is another fairly recent favorite, as I just read her debut, Something Real, last year. However, if my glowing review is any indiction, her books are amazing, and her newest contemporary, I’ll Meet You There, only confirms that fact. Demetrios is on my auto-buy list {a high honor given my library habits}, and I can’t recommend her books enough. If you haven’t read one of her novels, that’s something to fix. {review / interview}

Heather Vogel FrederickI read just as much middle grade as I do young adult, so I found it difficult to narrow down my list of favorite authors for this vast genre. However, I have long enjoyed Heather Vogel Frederick’s novels, from her beloved series, The Mother Daughter Book Club, to her recent small town mystery, Absolutely Truly. While I’m no longer in the intended age group for her books, I’m still happy to call myself a fan. {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3}

Jane AustenI have adored many classics over the past few years, but I went with the always witty and forerunner in romance for this valentine: Jane Austen. Having just re-read Pride and Prejudice for my English class, I am reminded of what an amazing author Austen is; her social commentary, subtle humor, and spot-on romance all give reason for her long-lasting reputation. Sense and Sensibility is up next for me! {review}

Jenny HanWhile I thoroughly enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, it was Jenny Han’s Burn for Burn series {written with another good author, Siobhan Vivian} that earned this valentine. I was – and still am – obsessed with the Burn for Burn books, and I am always happy to discuss the revengeful story of Lillia, Mary, and Kat with anyone and everyone. Of course, my anticipation for the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before sequel doesn’t hurt either. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Kasie WestKasie West became one of my favorite authors as soon as I finished Pivot Point over the summer; I couldn’t put it down all afternoon and quickly added the sequel, Split Second, to my birthday wish list. I have yet to read any of West’s contemporaries, but if there just as good as her other novels, I’m in for a good treat. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Morgan MatsonI have much, much love for any novel written by Morgan Maston. While she is a consistent favorite in the book blogger world, I am stunned by how little of my friends recognize her work. Matson’s contemporary novels, from the road trip adventure in Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour to the exploration of friendships and new beginnings in Since You’ve Been Gone, never fail to tug at my heartstrings, and I am definitely up for a re-read. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Robin BenwayThere’s not one Robin Benway book that isn’t adorable. She’s written about almost everything; her Also Known As novels are fun adventure about teenage spies, The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June follows three sisters with unbelievable powers, and Audrey, Wait! highlights a girl and a rock band. Can you ever go wrong with a Robin Benway book?! I think the only answer to that is “no” :) {reviews: 1 / 2}

Stuart GibbsFinally, the other middle grade author that made my list is Stuart Gibbs, who wrote Spy School and Spy Camp, among many others. It’s such a shame that I rarely hear about his books, because I can’t think of better novels to pass on to any reader in the MG age group. I have no doubt that his next release, Evil Spy School, will be just as great as its predecessors! {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5}

Let’s discuss! Do we share any favorite authors? Who did you make valentines for? This Love-a-Thon is a blast – thank you for stopping by! :)

Bella

7 thoughts on “2015 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon Author Valentines

  1. […] More: I love a good feature – they are just so fun to write up! In February, I fit in another musical moodboard {last month’s inspiration was the whimsical production, Mary Poppins}, a Style Snapshot fit for Valentine’s Day {although, let’s be honest, pink is good all year long}, and another round of Eye on Art. I also participated in Book Blogger Love-a-Thon for the first time; catch my introduction post HERE and my author valentines HERE. […]

    Like

Say Hello!

