Musical Moodboards / Mary Poppins

Hi!Musical MoodboardsChildren’s literature is rich with iconic characters, from smart, red-headed Anne in Anne of Green Gables to Alice, the curious and well-mannered explorer in Alice’s Adventures of Wonderland. One of the most famous, however? P. L. Travers’ caring, umbrella-flying nanny, Mary Poppins, star of a series of books, a Disney film, and a popular musical. Though I have not yet read Travers’ work, I am quite the fan of the Broadway adaptation, which inspired this month’s Musical Moodboard. For those new to the feature, Musical Moodboards combines my love of graphic design and theater to create a collection of visuals for my favorite shows {browse through previous moodboards here!}.

Mary Poppins Musical MoodboardSources: Mary Poppins Portrait by Genevieve Godbout / London Skyline / Spoonful of Sugar Quote / Kite Illustration / Chimney Sweep Art / {FYI: I tried my best to provide you with the most accurate and updated sources, but please let me know of any problems or mistakes!}

I won’t lie, this Mary Poppins moodboard took me a long time to create; I wanted to do justice to the whimsical, heart-felt production. I saw the musical a few years ago when it traveled to New England, and even now, I can still recall the colorful sets, the entertaining numbers, and the creative technical elements {I can only imagine the number of people it takes to make Mary fly each night}. Perhaps it was best then that I stuck with artwork inspired by the original story of Mary Poppins to capture the spirit of the musical. One of Mary’s trademark lines, an illustrated portrait, and a colorful rendition of the London skyline all made this moodboard. To finish it off, this collection includes a nod to Bert and a printed representation of the song, “Let’s Go Fly a Kite.” Practically perfect this moodboard is indeed.

Let’s discuss! Have you seen the musical version of Mary Poppins or are you a fan of the Disney film? Do you recommend P.L. Travers’ book {which I’ve been wanting to read ever since I saw Saving Mr. Banks :)}? While I have the next few moodboards planned out, suggestions for future posts are always welcome.

Have an amazing Wednesday!
B

5 thoughts on “Musical Moodboards / Mary Poppins

Say Hello!

