Making the Grade / Famous Last Words

Hi!

Making the GradeWhile I have yet to see a scary movie and I read anything remotely chilling in broad daylight, a well-written horror novel is hard for me to resist. Katie Alender’s most recent book, Famous Last Words, appeared tame enough for even the easiest to scare, and with that in mind, into her thriller I went! Although it is not without its flaws, the novel still had me turning pages all afternoon. My full review is below!

Summary: Willa is freaking out. It seems like she’s seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It’s almost as if someone – or something – is trying to send her a message. Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles – a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa’s strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There’s Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there’s Reed, who’s ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There’s also Wyatt, who’s super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer. All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind… or her life. {Goodreads}

Making the Grade Famous Last WordsAround the Web: “The author sustained my interest with great plot twists and wonderfully imaginative scenes. Famous Last Words is a loving marriage of mystery and the paranormal, which when done right, wins my vote” {read the rest of the review at Novel Reveries HERE}.

“If you like thrillers, with a bit of romance thrown in, Famous Last Words is for you! The characters are great, the plot is fun, and the climax of the book had me shivering in terror. A very enjoyable read” {read the rest of the review at Real Rad Reads HERE}.

Famous Last Words is thrilling, fast-paced, and definitely a page turner. I would recommend this book to those people who love to read thriller novels about solving murders, a mysterious killer, unexpected twists, mixed with supernatural!” {read the rest of the review at Carmel and Kyla HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Have you read anything by Katie Alender? Do you seek out thrillers or do scary books have you running? I’m excited to see what I think of her August 2015 release, The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall, but the next “scary” book I plan to read is Libba Bray’s Lair of Dreams, sequel to the creepy novel, The Diviners.

Have a fabulous Thursday!

B

5 thoughts on “Making the Grade / Famous Last Words

  1. I love horror movies and creepy TV shows, but I struggle with horror books, or even just ‘chilling’ ones. I started reading MARY: The Summoning because someone mentioned it in a comment and it’s about Bloody Mary so I thought it’d be interesting, but it ended up freaking me out. So I don’t think horror books are my cup of tea… at least not when the sun’s down. This books sounds thrilling, though, and I have a thing for murder-y books, (I’m not a psychopath, I promise) but ghosts terrify me. Great review! :)

    Like

Say Hello!

