Pros & Cons / Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Hi!

Pros and ConsEver since I joined the blogging scene in 2011, I’ve received many recommendations to try Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss, a YA contemporary set in the city of lights. Praised for the adorable relationship between the novel’s main characters and the realistic and complex character development, Anna and the French Kiss has become a staple in YA romance. My curiosity about the never-ending hype growing by the day, I finally read Perkins’ novel, only to end it slightly disappointed – as you can see in my full review below.

Here’s a synopsis, in case you haven’t read it yet {I’ve left the club :)}: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all… including a serious girlfriend. But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? {Goodreads}

Anna and the French Kiss Pros and ConsAround the Web:Anna and the French Kiss had everything that makes up a great young adult contemporary —humor, kissing cute boys, drama, and a big dose of heart. Stephanie Perkins does young adult well and I will read whatever she writes!” {read the rest of the review at Reading Books Like a Boss HERE}.

Anna is possibly the sweetest book I have ever read, and it’s witty and emotional and FUN, too. Seriously, I love this book!” {read the rest of the review at The Page Sage HERE}.

“It took me minutes to get engrossed in this story. Right away I loved Anna and her voice. She’s quirky and funny. She’s intelligent and loyal. It was very easy for me to relate to Anna” {read the rest of the review at Novel Nerd HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Are you an Anna and the French Kiss fan? Did you fall victim to the hype monster as I did? Thoughts on the companion novels, Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After?

Have a lovely Thursday!
B

6 thoughts on “Pros & Cons / Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss back when I read it a few years ago, but whenever I think back on it now I don’t think I would like it as much if I read it again. I haven’t read Perkins’ newest book, but I read Lola a few months ago and enjoyed that one as well. I do think in general that her books are a little too hyped up, but they’re nevertheless entertaining to read! And she writes excellent guy characters, haha! :)

    Like

Say Hello!

