Pros & Cons / Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

Hi!

Pros and ConsTop Ten Clues You’re Clueless would have escaped my notice if it hadn’t been for the book’s list-loving and Type One diabetic protagonist, Chloe. Determined to read of my literary equivalent, I blew through Liz Czukas’s novel in one sitting, and I haven’t stopped talking about it since. A delightful mix of adorable holiday situations, hilarious grocery store secrets, and so awkward, it’s cute moments, this is a book that will have you smiling from beginning to end. Czukas has made me a fan, as you’ll see in my full thoughts below!

Here’s a book synopsis, for your handy-dandy reference: Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day:
5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market
4) Crashing a cart into a customer’s car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi
3) Trying to rock the “drowned rat” look after being caught in a snowstorm
2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson {see #3}
1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees—of stealing upwards of $10,000
Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail {aka the break room} with five of her coworkers… even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe’s list of Top Ten Best Moments. {Goodreads}

Top Ten Clues You're Clueless ReviewAround the Web: “After adoring Liz Czukas’ Ask Again Later positively to pieces, I was scared that her follow-up, Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless, wouldn’t wow me as much. But after two Czukas books, I can now declare that she is the kind of writer I know I can rely on to instantly up my mood” {read the rest of the review at Writer of Wrongs HERE}.

“At a certain point, though, the story ran out of steam. There wasn’t a whole lot going on, and thus, as much as I liked certain characters, they weren’t interesting after a while” {read the rest of the review at YA Crush HERE}.

“Though I didn’t like Czukas’ sophomore novel quite as much as her first, it was still a lot of fun and cemented the fact that Liz Czukas’ books are delightful reads and I don’t want to miss a single one” {read the rest of the review at A Reader of Fictions HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Have you read Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless or Czukas’ debut, Ask Again Later? Do you know of any other books with protagonists that are diabetics? Does it annoy you to read a book set around the holidays in a month other than December?! Just me? :)

Have a wonderful Tuesday!
Bella

4 thoughts on “Pros & Cons / Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

  1. […] I feel that Liz Czukas goes underrated in recommendations of lighter and “fluffier” realistic fiction. Granted, I’ve only read one of her two young adult novels – the Christmas-Eve-grocery-store-set mystery, Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless – but its diverse cast of characters and abundant humor was more than enough to make me a fan. I will have to grab her other book, Ask Again Later, sometime soon – perhaps for my own prom season in the spring! {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

