Making the Grade / For Real

Hi!

Making the GradeWhen drafting up my winter TBR list, one of the first novels to make my post was Alison Cherry’s December release, For Real. This book seemed made for me: I’ve been watching The Amazing Race since I was a kid, I can never say no to a light-hearted read about sisters, and I have yet to meet a young adult story about reality television I didn’t like {Something Real kicked off that trend}. Fortunately, after devouring the book Christmas afternoon, I am delighted to say For Real met my high expectations. My full thoughts are below!

Summary: No parents. No limits. No clue what they’re in for. Shy, cautious Claire has always been in her confident older sister’s shadow. While Miranda’s life is jam-packed with exciting people and whirlwind adventures, Claire gets her thrills vicariously by watching people live large on reality TV. When Miranda discovers her boyfriend, Samir, cheating on her just before her college graduation, it’s Claire who comes up with the perfect plan. They’ll outshine Miranda’s fame-obsessed ex while having an amazing summer by competing on Around the World, a race around the globe for a million bucks. Revenge + sisterly bonding = awesome. But the show has a twist, and Claire is stunned to find herself in the middle of a reality-show romance that may or may not be just for the cameras. This summer could end up being the highlight of her life… or an epic fail forever captured on film. In a world where drama is currency and manipulation is standard, how can you tell what’s for real? {Goodreads}

Making the Grade For RealAround the Web: “Cutie-Patootie! That’s how I’m describing this book. It was fun, adorable, and downright what I needed on a bad day” {read the rest of the review at The Talking {Blogging} Bookworm HERE}.

“Fans of reality TV — especially The Amazing Race — will like For Real. People who don’t like reality TV probably won’t find much here for them.” {read the rest of the review at Rather Be Reading YA HERE}.

“What I thought was going to be a romantic story ended up being a story about the relationship between two sisters & I loved it. It’s been awhile since I’ve read a book that focused primarily on the relationship between siblings and I wish there were more books like this” {read the rest of the review at Turning Pages HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Have you read For Real? Have you been a longtime Amazing Race viewer? And have you noticed the growing trend of reality TV in YA fiction? Cherry’s second novel prompted plenty of fun questions :)

Have a lovely Wednesday!

Bella

7 thoughts on “Making the Grade / For Real

  1. Oh god I LOVE your blog! Such a gorgeous theme and way of rating a book :D I wish I knew how to work a blog’s coding like you hahaha I just started my book ewview blog and I’m still setting it up but it’s pretty confusing lol Congrats! :)

    Like

Say Hello!

