the cupcake basics | part one

Hi!

 

Last weekend, as I mentioned on Friday, I made cupcakes for Easter! They came out oh-so tasty, which had me thinking I should probably post my recipe for fail-proof cupcakes. There are three parts to the cupcake making process, so I divided it into a short series, “The Cupcake Basics.” Not only does it make it easier to explain, it also gave me an opportunity to fool around on Picasa :) Today, I will discuss the actual cupcake. Fun, yes?

There are dozens of flavors out there, but you can’t go wrong with the classic vanilla cake. Whether you like to use boxed mixes or make the batter from scratch, there are plenty of options for you to choose from!

Usually, I use a boxed mix to make cupcakes. This is one of the few desserts that I do use a store-bought mix for, but sometimes homemade cupcakes don’t come out as good as I expected. Fortunately, cake mixes are quick and easy to use. All you need {at least with Betty Crocker} are a few eggs, oil, and water, I think? {Correct me if I’m wrong. I don’t remember!} The resulting cupcakes are moist and light, with a nice texture.

If you want to go the homemade route, there are thousands of cake recipes to choose from. I recommend using this one from or this one from Martha Stewart. They are two trusted baking veterans :)

Next up, frosting! Yum :)

Do you have any tips when it comes to cupcakes? Do you prefer boxed cake mixes or making your own? What is you favorite cake flavor? Do tell.

One hour until Glee! The wait is killing me…

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “the cupcake basics | part one

Say Hello!

