Out of Sight, Out of Time: A Book Review

Hello!

 Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls)

Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter

Summary: Cammie Morgan woke up to find her entire summer wiped from her mind. The last thing she remembers is leaving the Gallagher Academy to protect her family and friends from the Circle of Cavan. This ancient terrorist group has been hunting her down for over a year, and last summer, they came incredibly too close. Without her memory, Cammie is lost. She does make it home after spending months being nursed and cared for by a group of nuns, but even then, things have changed at the Gallagher Academy. Everybody has questions, but no one has or wants to hear the answers. With the help of her friends, Bex, Liz, and Macey, and the spy guy, Zach, Cammie races around the world to piece together what exactly she did last summer. But it won’t be easy. Time is running out and the Circle is hot on her trail. They won’t stop until Cammie is in their hands…

My Thoughts: Ally Carter is definitely on my favorite authors list! {which, granted, is quite large} I have read every one of her books, and I was planning to get this one from the library, but thankfully, the Easter Bunny brought this little gem on Sunday :) I started it that afternoon, and finished early this week, so it was a fairly quick read. I must say, the wait was WAY too long. I know books can take a long time to write, and especially with Uncommon Criminals {the sequel to Heist Society} on Carter’s plate over the summer, it took a bit longer, but I wish it came out sooner. In the beginning, I had to take a few moments to remember what was happening, and who was who, which kind of decreases the pleasure factor, you know? However, by the middle, I was into it, and it was more of a delight to read. Cammie and I didn’t really “click” in this one. I think just the loss of memory, and her growth as a character, made her less approachable, which made it harder for me to see her emotions and personality. I don’t think Carter did a “bad” job with Cammie’s character development, it was more that Cammie seemed like an entirely different character. It was the same case with Bex. She is usually one of my favorite characters, but in this one, I found her to be a bit of a jerk! It was totally out of character for her. Of course, it could have been from the stress or worry, but your friend had been missing for months, and you don’t even acknowledge her when she comes home?! What’s up with that? Liz was a sweetie :) She is that cool. Macey was kind of absent in this book. Beside her few comment about Cammie’s hair, {totally not digging the black, BTW} I don’t remember her being in any other chapter. And now for some spoilers… Okay, I was totally fooled by Dr. Steve. He was so nice and then he turned out to be EVIL! Evil, of all things :( I had to reread the page a few times to make sure I got it right. Oh, and Preston’s dad? EVIL! This one made me sad as well because I like Preston and his family.  {“like” being used very loosely} It was a quick read, and it was good, but I just don’t think it was as memorable as the other few. Now, I’m just waiting on that movie…

Pros: Character development is spot-on. The plot is well written and keeps the reader engaged.

Cons: I felt like this was a “filler” book. Maybe Carter needed this as a link to the story of the sixth book. I’m not really sure.

Heads Up: Some violent scenes. But, really, what did you expect to read about? Unicorns?

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 {**** 1/2} stars. I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Fame, Glory, and Other Things on My

I also finished this book up on Saturday. Fluffy and very light, but SO so hilarious. LOL worthy :)

Bella :)

4 thoughts on “Out of Sight, Out of Time: A Book Review

Say Hello!

