Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Decided to Read

Hello!

Top Ten TuesdayEver since I joined Goodreads last fall, the list of books I want to read has grown exponentially. A quick visit to the site often turns into a much longer project than I anticipated, as I’m constantly updating my virtual shelves with new books from beloved authors, debuts with eye-catching covers, or novels that come well recommend by other bloggers. As a result, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, was fitting for this avid Goodreads user, allowing me to share ten books that I’ve recently added to my TBR list. While these novels range in genre and intended audience, I can’t wait to read them all as soon as they are released in the next few months. What books were recent additions to your list?

Finding AudreySophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic novels have defined the “chick lit” genre ever since the first book hit shelves in 1999. While I have yet to read any of her books – adult literature and I rarely “meet” – I have heard countless good things, all of which will surely apply to her young adult debut, Finding Audrey. I’m excited that she is writing for younger audiences, and I am even more anxious for the book’s release in June. {add it to Goodreads}

ImmaculateCiao Bella has had a positive effect in many areas of my life, but one noticeable impact of blogging is in what I read; writing and reading reviews more frequently has pushed me to try genres or stories outside of my favorites. Katelyn Detweiler’s young adult novel, Immaculate, is the perfect example. Although it’s far from my typical read, its intriguing premise {the story stars a virgin who is pregnant – curious yet?! :)} earned the book a spot on my TBR list. {add it to Goodreads}

Like a RiverStrong historical fiction for middle grade audiences is few and far between, so I have high hopes for Like a River, a story set during the Civil War and written by debut author, Kathy Cannon Wiechman. While it hasn’t been published quite yet {we have to wait until next week}, the synopsis indicates superb character development and an engaging, layered plot. No wonder I was quick to label it “to read!” {add it to Goodreads}

Off the PageSimilar to Sophie Kinsella, Jodi Picoult has made her name in adult fiction, and again, like Kinsella, she has made a foray into the young adult genre. Despite its flaws, I truly enjoyed her first attempt, Between the Lines, a novel co-authored with Samantha Van Leer, and I’m even more excited to return to Delilah and Oliver’s magical world in the companion story, Off the Page. {add it to Goodreads}

The Forget Me Not SummerI haven’t been the best at keeping my reading promises; Nantucket Blue and the sequel, Nantucket Red, have been on my TBR list for far too long! Nevertheless, I hope to give Leila Howland’s first middle grade novel a try this summer. Marketed to fans of The Penderwicks, one of my childhood favorites, The Forget-Me-Not Summer boasts a super cute cover and an adorable-sounding storyline. Summer reading at its finest! {add it to Goodreads}

The Knock OffReading through Jen’s Do! Judge a Book By Its Cover is like finding a gold mine for my TBR list. I always have my Goodreads account open to add new books, and it was no different with her recent round-up of contemporary covers, one of which was The Knockoff, a May release by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza. It not only has a colorful cover, but an entertaining plot centered in the magazine industry too! {add it to Goodreads}

The Sacred Lies of Minnow BlyThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is another novel I wouldn’t typically pick up, but I couldn’t dismiss my curiosity over this retelling of “The Handless Maiden.” Only time will tell if this was a good addition to my TBR shelf {it hits literal shelves in June}, but early reviews are promising an excellent read. {add it to Goodreads}

The Rest of Us Just Live HereI have heard nothing but good things about Patrick Ness’ work; his books are often praised for capturing the attention of his readers and never letting go. The Rest of Us Just Live Here will be my first Ness novel, and I hope to add myself to his audience of fans once I read it in the fall. It has such an eye-catching cover, but an even better blurb: “What if you’re not the one who’s so often the hero in YA fiction; who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?” Yes to that. {add it to Goodreads}

PaperweightThere’s no shortage of YA novels that tackle heavy topics, such as suicide, depression, or the death of a family member {if you wanted a full list of what is offered in the contemporary market, we would be here for days}. Meg Haston’s book, Paperweight, brings attention to eating disorders, a difficult, but necessary, issue needed in teenage reading. I’m hoping for a layered, emotional story, but I can’t see how this debut author wouldn’t deliver. {add it to Goodreads}

Vengeance RoadFinally, since all I do is judge books by their covers, Vengeance Road was easy to mark “to read;” the gorgeous typography, the limited color palette, and the juxtaposition of illustrations all appeal to my art-loving heart. Fortunately, the Wild West set story sounds like it will live up to its cover. Thumbs up from me! {add it to Goodreads}

Have a wonderful rest of your day!

B

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Decided to Read

  1. Patrick Ness is releasing a new book!?!!?!?!?! That’s so exciting!!! I came across Immaculate on Goodreads recently as well and was definitely intrigued by the blurb. I’ve never heard of a YA that discusses anything like it, and I wonder if it takes on a more religious or scientific direction? Anyways, great list!

    Like

  2. Well thanks to this post I just added Like a River to my Goodreads TBR. I love middle grade historical fiction, and when it has a beautiful cover like that, it makes me want to read a book even more. I also haven’t read many historical fiction books that take place during the Civil War, but it’s a topic that I would love to read about.

    Like

    • Haha, I’m sure I helped lots of people grow their TBR list with this post! :) Like a River looks fabulous, and I hope we both enjoy the story as much as the cover. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Say Hello!

