The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile: A Book Review

Hello!

The Time Traveling Fashionista Book Three

Title: The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile

Author: Bianca Turetsky

Published: December 3, 2013 by Poppy

Pages: 256

Genre: Between Middle Grade and Young Adult / Historical Fiction with some time travel thrown in!

Source: Christmas Gift / Hardcover {If you do want to read this, DON’T skimp and buy the e-book. The hardcover is gorgeous, and you can see all of the pretty color illustrations!}

Series: The Time Traveling Fashionista Series: Book Two

Summary: Walk, talk, and dress like an Egyptian. When Louise Lambert tries on a lavender Grecian gown during a visit to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Vintage Sale, she feels a familiar tug and falls back in time, arriving at the dusty base of an enormous pyramid. She has landed in ancient Egypt… or has she?

It turns out that Louise is on the legendary Old Hollywood film set of Cleopatra, but her time there is short-lived. Rummaging through the wardrobe tent, Louise gets her hands on a pearl necklace that dates back to 51 BC, and she suddenly finds herself whisked away once more, this time to the ancient city of Alexandria, Egypt. Gold and jewels shimmer in the Egyptian sunlight, but poisonous snakes and dangerous enemies also roam the palace halls. Louise quickly learns that life as a handmaiden to Queen Cleopatra is much more treacherous–and fashionable–than she ever could have imagined. {from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: One book down of my winter TBR list, and only nine more to go! :) I was actually super excited to receive this on Christmas, and I started it soon after. I’ve always been one to recommend the Time Traveling Fashionista series {In fact, I made my little sister get the first book on a recent library trip!}, so it was like catching up with an old friend when I returned to Louise’s adventures. And, if I am going to be quite honest, I feel like the series improves with every book. Even though I finished this one up a few weeks ago, I’m already anxious to see what other vintage dresses are in store in the future!

You could call Louise a bit of an expert now that she’s been to a couple magical vintage sales. In this book, when she visits the fashionista shop, she picks up a flow-y purple dress and is instantly sent back to the legendary set of the movie, Cleopatra. Let’s start there! This whole old Hollywood movie set is interesting, no? Having never actually seen the movie, Cleopatra, reading all of the vivid details the author provides helped me to imagine exactly where Louise was. Things were clearly chaotic, as shown by all of the crew members running all over the place – this was something I loved of the book as a whole. The writing used a lot of amazing description so the reader always felt immersed in the setting and situation, instead of just the writer simply stating and telling. Points to the author for that!

After Louise spends time on the movie set {which, in my opinion, deserved a few more chapters because of how fun it was}, she then again time travels, but this time, to the palace of Cleopatra. Similar to the second book, where I had little background knowledge of the French revolution, I didn’t really know a whole lot about Cleopatra and her rule. However, after reading, I could tell I learned a lot, but it never felt too informative. The historical facts were disguised under the entertaining plot, which is something I think is key to reaching out to the audience. Cleopatra was pretty darn cool, I must say.

Overall, the latest installment in the Time Traveling Fashionista series was a winner! Coupled with the gorgeous {and I really do mean gorgeous} full-color illustrations, I’m happy to display this one on my bookshelf. Do check it out if you haven’t done so already!

Pros: I love how relatable Louise is as a main character; she also displays a fair amount of growth. The story lines were also handled well. They all connected together nicely, and I thought the development of each one was great.

Cons: Some of the dialogue felt a tad juvenile for the intended audience, but I am really stretching to find a good “con” here :)

Heads Up: Nothing huge. If anything, it is the historically accurate information regarding poison and other weapons used during Cleopatra’s rule.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****}, and I recommend it for ages 11-ish and up.

Have a terrific day!
Bella

ten authors who deserve a shout-out

Hi!

Today, I am participating in The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday to discuss authors that deserve more recognition! While I am all for authors reaching the popularity that only few have ever achieved {like J.K. Rowling and Suzanne Collins}, there are a LOT of other authors that need and deserve a little shout-out! :) I adored all of the following authors’ books, and I encourage you to check them out. Who do you think deserves some more recognition?

Jessica-Day-George

Jessica Day George

I had never heard of Jessica Day George until my sister got me hooked! In all seriousness, though, she is an amazing fantasy writer, and I am surprised that she is not mentioned more often, especially for fans of E.D. Baker or Shannon Hale.

Susan-Runholt

Susan Runholt

Susan Runholt hasn’t released a book in a while, but I don’t think that diminishes what good reads her other novels are! I love the entire Kari and Lucas series, and I wish other middle grade mystery fans would check her out.

Liz-Kessler

Liz Kessler

I read Emily Windsnap so much as a little kid, and Kessler’s books continue to impress me. They are really good choices to help anyone get into the fantasy genre, due to the vivid descriptions and engaging plots. Give it to any elementary school girl, and they will love you forever :)

Bianca-Turetsky

Bianca Turetsky

Despite the amazing idea for a series and the gorgeous execution of both writing and illustration, The Time Traveling Fashionista series is one that not many have heard about. I love the two books, and I’m trying to get others to like it as well.

Elise-Broach

Elise Broach

One of the best authors for the elementary school audience, hands down. I don’t know if it is just that she hasn’t written a new novel in a while, or something else, but I don’t hear of Broach very often. Let’s change that!

Kristin-Levine

Kristin Levine

I honestly don’t think I can rave any more about Levine’s books, but I feel like I am one of the select few that have actually read them. I am not sure about the library front, but her books are not mentioned in the blog world usually.

Alison-McGhee

Alison McGhee

I specifically chose Alison McGhee because I feel like her Julia Gillian trilogy is looked over time after time. The books are adorable, and McGhee is a pretty fantastic author, so what are we all waiting for?!

Jennifer-Donnelly

Jennifer Donnelly

Jennifer Donnelly has only written two YA books, but both are outstanding reads. If you haven’t read them already, I urge you to take a peek!

Erin-Cashman

Erin Cashman

Cashman entered the YA world a little over a year ago, and her debut novel was amazing. I don’t recall hearing or seeing about it anywhere {I found it randomly at my library!} but don’t let that stop you! :)

Michael-D-Beil

Michael D. Beil

Finally, Michael D. Beil deserves a huge shout-out because he is the author the Red Blazer Girls books. Don’t know what those are? You are truly missing out on a fabulous middle grade series!

Have a lovely night!

Bella

The Time Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette: A Book Review

Hello!

The Time-Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette

The Time Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette by Bianca Turetsky

Summary: What if a beautiful dress could take you back in time? Louise Lambert’s best friend’s thirteenth birthday party is fast approaching, so of course the most important question on her mind is, “What am I going to wear?!” Slipping on an exquisite robin’s egg blue gown during another visit to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Vintage Sale, Louise finds herself back in time once again, swept up in the glory of palace life, fancy parties, and enormous hair as a member of the court of France’s most infamous queen, Marie Antoinette. But between cute commoner boys and glamorous trips to Paris, life in the palace isn’t all cake and couture. Can Louise keep her cool-and her head!-as she races against the clock to get home?

My Thoughts: This series is a combination of a few of my favorite things: cute middle grade adventures and a girl with a love for fashion! :) In the first book, the main character, Louise is invited to a vintage sale that ends up being anything but what she expected. In this following one, Louise is sent back in time to the period of Marie Antoinette! Bianca Turetsky once again delivered a fun, entertaining, and informative read.

Louise is different from most teenage girls, and it’s quite clear from her dialogue and thoughts. She adores vintage clothing and would much rather talk about the latest designer than the cutest boy. However, it’s her “misfit” status that made me fall in love with her! She was definitely developed and the author showed her growth throughout the novel. I feel like she is easy to connect with, and she has an entertaining view on things. I love that Turetsky puts her in the body of another girl back in time because it gives the reader almost two points of view. It also makes for some laugh-out-loud moments :)

Marie Antoinette was an interesting choice, but it paid off in the end. Unlike the first book, where I knew some things about the Titanic, I know much less about the French Revolution, so I learned a lot from reading this. The author wrote with such vivid details that it was easy to get caught up in the story. My only complaint would be that the gardener, Pierre, was kind of left out halfway through the story. There seemed to be a love connection going on, so I would have liked to see more closure on that end.

Overall, this was a delight to read, and with the cliffhangers left in this book, there’s sure to be a third one soon!

Pros: Developed storyline and entertaining characters.

Cons: Pierre was left out, so I was left wondering what happened to that storyline.

Heads Up: Nothing, really, although the French Revolution might be a bit graphic for younger readers. {think around age 10}

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 11-ish and up.

Have a lovely night!

B :)