Do Tell / Current Playlist

Hello!

Do TellHow are things, friends? Are you enjoying the summer? I know I am! While I look to finish my current read {The Tsar of Love and Techno, as excellent as promised} and prepare for work and rehearsal, I thought I’d also pop in to post this month’s Do Tell: a look at the music I’ve been listening to as of late! I don’t share these albums because the artists are unknown, but because, such is the case with books, it’s all the more fun when you have fellow fans of the same bands to share the love with :) What music has made up your summer playlist?

Bea Miller Chapter Two RedFirst up is Bea Miller, who some may recognize from the second season of The X-Factor. I myself did not, instead reading about her most recent songs across social media. Curiosity got the best of me, and I’m thankful it did, for Chapter Two: Red {and its predecessor, Chapter One: Blue} are lyrical, emotional, and make my Spotify listening sessions all the better. Word on the street is that Chapter Three: Yellow will be out next month — and you can bet my playlist is ready.

favorite track(s): Like That

Valerie June The Order of TimeMy friends all well know my dislike of contemporary country music, but mention a folk album and I’m all ears. It’s my interest in the genre that led me to Valerie June’s The Order of Time, which I believe is, in agreement with Rolling Stone, “near-perfect front to back. It’s the best album to have playing while I brainstorm before bed, not in the least because I find her trademark banjo and distinctive voice so soothing.

favorite track(s): If And, With You

The Wild Party Original Cast RecordingA summer day rarely goes by without listening to a musical of some sort, be it the whimsical tracks from Amélie or the soaring ballads of Natasha, Pierre, and the Great Comet of 1812. My current favorite, however, hails from 1999: Andrew Lippa’s off-Broadway gem The Wild Party, based after the poem of the same name. It’s a little funky, a little jazzy, and certainly not everyone’s cup of tea, but I happen to love it {and I now want to track down a production of the show!}.

favorite track(s): Queenie Was a Blonde, The Juggernaut

San Cisco The WaterJust as I often pick up a book for its cover alone, I first listened to The Water, one of the band San Cisco’s many albums, based on the colorful artwork gracing the cover of the album. Fortunately, the ten tracks on the LP are just as fun and upbeat as the illustration suggests, creating a dreamy, retro-inspired soundtrack for the summer months. Evocative of beach days and nights on the dance floor, I could listen to it all week long.

favorite track(s): SloMo, Make Me Electrify

Lorde MelodramaAt some level, Lorde needs no further explanation; who hasn’t already heard the pop queen’s masterful sophomore album? Nevertheless, I would be remiss not to include Melodrama, for I don’t think I’ve listened to an album as frequently as I have hers this summer. The wait between LPs was long, but entirely worth it for a concept album that is just as thought-provoking as it is ethereal. Simply put: I’m a Lorde fan, through and through.

favorite track(s): Writer in the Dark, The Louvre

Middle KidsIf you too are a fan of HAIM {isn’t their newest album a delight?}, let me recommend to you Middle Kids, an Australian-based indie group whose six songs remind me of my favorite California sisters. With vocalist Hannah Joy at the helm and an indie-rock formula that serves them well, their EP is brimming with potential for a full-length album. I consider them a hidden gem, a band that I can only hope gets more attention in the future.

favorite track(s): Fire in Your Eyes, Doing It Right

Bleachers Gone NowGiven my Lorde love, it’s little surprise that I enjoy the music of her producer Jack Antonoff as well. A talented and well-established artist in his own right, his album Gone Now has grown into a full-fledged favorite of mine, the 90’s inspired hits often blasting while I bake in the kitchen. It hasn’t been a critical hit, but I personally dig the nostalgia and loneliness that define the album.

favorite track(s): Foreign Girls, Everybody Lost Somebody

Oh Wonder UltralifeFinally, I can credit Aneeqah with my current obsession with the British pop duo Oh Wonder. After seeing her tweet about the two singers, I was quick to look them up and even quicker to fall in love with their debut album and the singles from their upcoming LP, Ultralife. The pair isn’t afraid to acknowledge their own quirkiness, which is perhaps why I’ve fallen in love with their sound: electropop at its finest.

favorite track(s): High on Humans, Ultralife

Have a terrific Tuesday!

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

4 thoughts on “Do Tell / Current Playlist

  1. Don’t mind me I’m just adding every single one of these to my list of things I need to research/check out further…lol. Thanks for all of the recommendations! I’m particularly curious about the Middle Kids album because you described them as similar to HAIM and that has me sold so… :) <3

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

