High Five / 12

Hello!

high-five-12How are things, friends? Anything planned for your Sunday? Yesterday kicked off my February break, and so I’m relishing the time I have at home, taking the opportunity to catch up on calculus problems and yearbook spreads, try a few recipes I’ve bookmarked {like this one!}, and make my way through the growing pile of books by my bed {Currently on my nightstand is Corey Ann Haydu’s The Careful Undressing of Love and Mara Wilson’s memoir Where Am I Now?}. 

This vacation also gives me the chance to return to Ciao Bella – it’s been left untouched too long for my liking, if only because I wanted to wrap up my first semester and start my second on a good note. As a means to catch up – and a way to jump back into this blogging thing once again – I thought I’d share another edition of High Five. Any highlights of your own to share?

[1] First, Teen Vogue has been receiving widespread acclaim as of late, and for good reason: their editorial and artistic direction has been top-notch over the past several months. Editor-in-Chief Elaine Wentworth, digital director Phillip Picardi, and creative director Marie Suter are a team to be reckoned with, and I’ve found their content not only enjoyable, but informative, with a range of everything from an interview with their cover model Bella Hadid to fact checks on the Trump administration. ith the recent unfounded attacks on the press, I can think of no better way to resist such claims than to support the publications that consistently do it right. The new issue, a different approach from previous years in that it’s pitched more as a “collectible” than a monthly magazine, has yet to hit my mailbox, but I’ll be sitting down to read it cover to cover as soon as it does.

[2] More often than not, if I’m not reading or working on homework, you can find me at rehearsal, a statement that sums up my afterschool schedule over the past few weeks. This month has had me working on three productions: I’m coordinating auditions and early rehearsals for the local community theater’s The Great American Trailer Park Musical; I’m stage managing my school’s entry into the state one-act play festival, and I just wrapped up the tech week and performances for this year’s Cabaret, the choir showcase at my school. Needless to say, I feel as if I’ve seen enough cue sheets and rehearsal schedules to last me a lifetime, but it helps that I’m having a blast while doing so :) Cabaret marks the beginning of the end for us seniors involved in the drama department, and I know graduation and my last musical and “Tony Night” will be here before I know it. For any other high school seniors, is your year flying by as quickly as mine?

[3] In other theatrical news, my mom, sister, and I were lucky enough to see The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time when it stopped in Providence on its national tour, and we all thoroughly enjoyed the performance. Tony winner of Best Play in 2015, the production tells the story of fifteen-year old Christopher as the he unravels the mystery of the relationship between his mother and father. The actors were all stellar, as was the intricate choreography, but the stage manager in me was most impressed with the projections, used to give a sense of time and place {you can a glimpse in the photo above}. After seeing the company bring the story to life on stage, I’m anxious to read the book that shares its title, as I’ve heard nothing but good things. Have you read and/or seen The Curious Incident at all?

[4] Have you heard of the CW gem, iZombie? I myself had not until my sister introduced it to me on Netflix, and I only regret not watching it sooner! As someone who shamelessly devours mystery novels and who will gladly watch any and all detective shows, the program – which premiered in early 2015 and which was inspired by Rob Thomas’ comic of the same name – is right up my alley, following a doctor-turned-zombie whose abilities become an asset to the local police department. With actress Rose McIver as the main character Liv Moore, the cast seems to have a tight bond, both on and off the screen; the story, meanwhile, is the perfect blend of humor, horror, and suspense, garnering a number of fans, myself now included. Already eight episodes in, I have my fingers crossed that my sister and I can bring ourselves up to speed before the third season starts in April.

[5] Finally, if you’re searching for some new songs to jazz up your playlist, look no further than the soundtrack for Dear Evan Hansen, one of the most recent musicals to open on Broadway. With lyrics and music from the songwriting team Pasek and Paul {they’re the duo behind Dogfight, another favorite of mine}, the show explores the role of social media and the definition of an “outsider” as the title character forges a friendship after the death of a classmate. All fourteen tracks are worth a listen, in thanks to incredible voices of Ben Platt, Laura Dreyfuss, and the rest of the company, but I particularly enjoy “Waving Through a Window” and “Requiem.” What music have you been listening to lately?

And with that, I wish you a lovely Sunday!
xo, B

4 thoughts on “High Five / 12

  1. Ahhh I love Dear Evan Hansen!!! My friends and I have been listening to the soundtrack nonstop since it was released. My favorite songs are Waving Through a Window, Words Fail, If I Could Tell Her, and Only Us. <3

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

