Eye on Art / 17

Hi friends!

Eye on ArtHappy Wednesday! This week is zipping right along, but with the end of the first semester a mere two weeks away, I’m not surprised. Things are busy, but I’m having a blast; if my friends who have since graduated are correct, senior year only gets better from here! Before I work on my homework assignments and obsess over This is Us {did you catch last night’s episode?}, I’d thought I pop in with a new post. I last wrote an Eye on Art in September – a wait far too long for my liking – and so, I wanted to share an edition to highlight the work of three talented artists: one who specializes in screen-printing, another in illustration, and the last in photography. Have you been crushing on any artwork as of late? How are things on your end?

boyoun-kimFirst on my list is Boyoun Kim, an illustrator based in New York whose portfolio extends across numerous publications, including The New Yorker and The Washington Post. Boyoun uses the process of screen-printing to produce such vibrant pieces as the ones above, which may explain why I was so taken with her portfolio; her bright and colorful palette is hard to ignore!

Naturally, her skill set is suited well to landscape prints, be it a snowy ski village dotted with pink and brown houses or the pyramids in Egypt, the sky a brilliant blue against the saturated sand. My personal favorite, however, is her city skyline, complete with a person flying overhead with a balloon. Needless to say, her eye for color and pattern is unmatched. {website}

nina-cosfordNina Cosford’s work too evokes a sense of playfulness, a thread that runs throughout her lengthy portfolio of prints, paintings, and patterns. With a penchant for charming characters and architecture, she’s known for her distinct style of illustration and sense of humor {her social media feeds are not only appealing to the eye, they make me laugh too!}.

Nina is perhaps best known for her collaboration with HBO for the television show Girls, where she illustrated a number of quotes and characters from the program, but I myself am partial to her contributions to the Life Portraits book series {it’s the Jane Austen fan in me}, even if I’ve yet to grab an example from the library. I’ll have to change that soon, for her newest book My Name is Girl, both written and illustrated by her, sounds right up my alley. {website}

amy-friendFinally, one glance at Amy Friend’s work, and I was in love. And how could I not? At once ethereal and honest, dark and light, her portfolio of photographs and paintings is captivating online – I can only imagine their power in person! As she herself has said, art is a means for her to explore “the relationship between what is visible and non-visible.”

Amy has a number of collections, all of which I’d be happy to buy a piece from, but after reading through the inspiration behind the Dare Alla Luce pieces, I’ve mulled over the photographs for days; in them, she’s uses pinpricks of light to reinvent a number of vintage photographs. If you ask me, there’s nothing better than art like this that makes you think. {website}

Have a lovely day!

One thought on “Eye on Art / 17

  1. oooh these are all so cute. i think boyoun kim might be my favourite. also!! not sure if you’ve already featured her in one of these posts or you already follow her / know of her but in case you don’t, i think you might like mari andrew’s work! she’s an illustrator and she posts her cute illustrations on instagram (she’s @bymariandrew i think) and they’re all super lovely. so i definitely recommend her if you don’t know of her yet!!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

