Twelve Anticipated Releases for 2017

Hello!

Top Ten TuesdayHappy Wednesday, friends! I won’t lie: between a draining cold and an abundance of mid-term projects, winter break is looking all the more appealing. I love the holidays, but I think the vacation is also an opportunity to refresh and plan for the year ahead. Of course, the new year is only what one makes of it, but nevertheless, I love the figurative fresh start the comes with the turn of the calendar.

Blame the avid reader in me, but one of the things I like to plan for most is my TBR list, adding to it the new novels released by my favorite authors. I’m not alone; one of the most popular topics in The Broke and The Bookish’s weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday, happens to be this week’s prompt: Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017. I’m a day late, but I still wanted to share the novels I can’t wait to get my hands on in 2017 – I’ll talk books any day of the week :) I’ve limited this list to novels I don’t already own {that means the wonderful Becky Albertalli’s The Upside of Unrequited isn’t included}, and the titles are listed in rainbow order, naturally. What books are on your TBR list?

the-last-of-augustFirst on my list is Brittany Cavallaro’s The Last of August, the sequel to her humorous modern take on Sherlock Holmes, A Study in Charlotte. In this installment, detective duo Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson team up once again to solve a case on their winter break: what secrets lie behind Charlotte’s uncle’s disappearance? {the title hails from character August Moriarty}. The novel comes out on Valentine’s Day, so I think I’ll be buying it as a personal treat. {out February 14}

this-would-make-a-good-story-somedayIf you haven’t yet read The Misadventures of Family Fletcher, let me be blunt: you’re missing out. A sweet family-centered contemporary at its finest, the Family Fletcher – and its sequel, The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island – make me smile, as the next book from author Dana Alison Levy, This Would Make a Good Story Someday, is sure to do as well. Who can resist a summer road trip story, complete with rambunctious siblings and embarrassing parents? Not me, that’s for certain. {out May 16}

yours-trulyAs if I needed another reason to look forward to the new year, Heather Vogel Frederick is releasing a new novel, the companion to the adorable Absolutely Truly. Book Two, named Yours Truly, sounds just as heart-warming: someone sabotages the town’s annual maple festival and it is up to Truly to find out why. I’d move to Pumpkin Falls in an instant – consider it the literary version of Stars Hollow – and so, I’m oh-so excited to revisit Truly and the entire Lovejoy gang. Is it bad to admit I’ve already carved out a spot for it in my bookshelf? {out January 31}

dreamland-burningWhile I haven’t read Jennifer Latham’s debut, Scarlett Undercover, one look at the cover of her sophomore release, Dreamland Burning, and I was sold. Further research into the synopsis has me even more excited: tying together two different settings – one from today, the other from 1921 – the protagonist attempts to uncover the truth behind a brutal murder. Early reviews have been overwhelmingly positive – fingers crossed I’ll soon be able to add my own to the bunch! {out February 21}

first-class-murderYou may sense a growing trend: I love me any mystery or middle grade fiction. Robin Stevens’ delightful series, Wells & Wong Mysteries, then, is a match made in heaven, as young sleuths Daisy and Hazels go about England solving various cases. In their third installment, the detectives find themselves solving a murder upon the Orient Express; my UK friends may have already read it, but I’ll be patiently awaiting its release in April. It couldn’t come soon enough! {out April 4}

the-names-they-gave-usEmery Lord has yet to disappoint: Open Road Summer had my heart swelling; The Start of Me and You remains a favorite; and When We Collided beautifully explored a topic not often seen in YA. Her success is sure to follow in her next release, titled The Names They Gave Us. From the synopsis, it sounds like yet another story using Lord’s winning combination: family and friend dynamics, a blossoming romance, and a summery setting. I’m already counting down the days until it hits shelves. {out May 16}

the-pearl-thiefWhen it comes to YA historical fiction, there’s only one author I continually recommend: Elizabeth Wein, the writer behind World War II narratives Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire. She returns to the same characters in the prequel, The Pearl Thief, sharing just how Julie satisfied her taste for adventure as a teen before the war. Like any bookworm, I’ll never pass up the chance to revisit a beloved protagonist. In other words? It’s only a matter of days before I preorder my own copy. {out May 2}

ramona-blueAfter reading the delight that is Dumplin’, I’m convinced that Julie Murphy can craft female narrators like no other author; her protagonist, Willowdean Dickson, is sassy, funny, and all-around wonderful, as Murphy’s next main character, Ramona, is likely to be as well. Furthermore, if anyone can delicately handle the topic of sexual fluidity, it’d be Julie Murphy. To put it simply? Ramona Blue sounds like a winner. May, come sooner please. {out May 17}

flying-lessons-and-other-storiesEntering into the new year, I hope the literary community can agree on one thing: diverse books are not only needed, they deserve to be celebrated. For that reason, I’m looking forward to picking up Flying Lessons and Other Stories, an anthology by the founded of We Need Diverse Books, Ellen Oh, in the coming year. With contributions from authors like Tim Federle, Jacqueline Woodson, and newcomer Kelly J. Baptist, it’s sure to be a stellar collection. I personally can’t wait. {out January 3}

history-is-all-you-left-meIf Adam Silvera made me cry with his debut, More Happy Than Not, I can only imagine the emotions that will arise with the release of History is All You Left Me. Exploring themes of loss, love, and mental illness, the book follows the protagonist as he enters a downward spiral, “losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices.” Fortunately, it’s mere weeks until it comes out, so I’ll be devouring Griffin’s story before I know it, tissues in hand. {out January 17}

always-and-forever-lara-jeanIf you’re searching for some sweetness and sincerity to add to your reading pile, look no further than Jenny Han, whose To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is as cute as they come. What was originally planned as a duology has grown into a trilogy – to the delight of fans everywhere, myself included – so as to allow the chance for Lara Jean to go to college and decide what that means for her relationships. More of Lara Jean, Peter, and the Song family? Who could say no? {out April 4}

bad-romanceFinally, while it’s only been two years since Heather Demetrios’ last release, I’ll Meet You There, I feel as if I’ve waited forever for the publication of her third novel, Bad Romance. Not only does it sport an eye-catching cover, it also has a compelling synopsis: the main character’s life changes, for better of for worse, when she meets Gavin and they enter a relationship. I’ll be grabbing a copy soon after I graduate – what craziness. {out June 13}

Have the most wonderful Wednesday!
Bella

3 thoughts on “Twelve Anticipated Releases for 2017

Say Hello!

