Do Tell / Stage Managers’ Day

Hello!

Do TellHow was your weekend, friends? Mine was all sorts of wonderful: New Girl marathons {I’m only a few years late}, a birthday breakfast for my sister, and a night in with friends all making my pile of homework easier to stomach. Today, nothing’s on my agenda save a yoga class in the afternoon, so I’m hoping to finish Jason Reynolds’ Ghost and wrap up spirit week preparations – as class president, the days leading up to the homecoming game keep me busy.

October might as well be the month of celebration, as today is a holiday of its own: International Stage Managers’ Day! As someone who has stage-managed numerous school and community productions, this day is, naturally, near and dear to my heart. In honor of the occasion, I wanted to share five reasons why I consider theater so important in a new edition of Do Tell. While they are not unique to the performing arts, together, I feel the reasons below capture why theater is such a meaningful part of my life – and those of many others! Are you a theater fan?

waitressWhen I first became involved in theater at my middle school, it was just another extracurricular activity; many of my friends had a role in either the cast or crew, the musical seemed like an easy way to transition into a new grade, and helping out with costumes satisfied my dream of working in fashion {clearly, I’ve since changed my mind}. However, with each show I’ve participated in since then, I’ve come to appreciate theater as an art form, something of both aesthetic and intellectual value. Even when I have a hand in bringing a performance together, I continue to be in utter disbelief when the play or musical finally moves from pages in a script to a fluid piece of art on stage, complete with costumes, props, and set pieces that all serve to bring the story – and message! – to life.

shuffle-alongMy love of shows and my love of books go hand in hand: both are forms of storytelling, allowing audience members and readers respectively a window into another time, place, or way of living – plays act as a “slice of life,” if you will. I hate to use the word “escape” in this sense, as that implies to see a show is to ignore reality, when it is often the exact opposite: I believe the best productions mirror the world outside, teaching us a lesson or two about ourselves and others, even if they’re set a few hundred years back from now. And if the characters sing and dance while doing it? All the better, in my humble opinion :)

she-loves-meWhether you are in the starring role or simply moving set backstage, if you’ve ever worked on a production, you know of the bond that often forms between cast and crew members. Late night rehearsals and tech week schedules lend themselves well to quickly formed friendships! But even within the audience, community can be found; whenever I’m calling a show, I love to anticipate the laugh that ripples through the auditorium with a funny scene, the intense hush that comes at the height of a drama, or even the snippets of conversation as people exit the theater. Those moments are hard to beat.

hamiltonBroadway and the theater world at large still have a long way to go in terms of diversity; like many other forms of entertainment, the representation of different races, genders, and disabilities leave much to be desired. That said, I’ve still found that with the assistance of social media, theater is more accessible than ever, and I think that only goes to show how much it has grown – and the potential it has in the future! I may never see Hamilton in person, for example, but the cast album is on Spotify, print and digital interviews are in abundance, and videos shared by the cast only spread the show’s influence. And, of course, one can’t discount the power of local theater. Quality can range, sure, but in many communities, an excellent production is only minutes away from your door at a far cheaper price than what you’ll find in NYC.

the-color-purpleFinally, it’s difficult to expand on the idea that theater is powerful, but it’s true: why else would so many people say that theater has changed their lives for the better? Hours of rehearsing can be draining, shows can seem repetitive by closing night, and nothing pains my stage manager heart more than a technical glitch, but nevertheless, I’ve found few things replicate the excitement I feel when the lights dim and the curtain opens, regardless if I’m on headset or in an auditorium seat. I can’t wait to see what future productions have in store.

Have a lovely Monday!
Bella

One thought on “Do Tell / Stage Managers’ Day

  1. YES YES YES THIS POST IS MY LITERAL FAVORITE THING EVER. <3 I completely agree with everything you've said. Theatre creates such amazing long-lasting friendships. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

