High Five / 08

Hello, hello!

high-five-08Happy Sunday! Anything fun planned for the day? I myself have several homework assignments to finish up this morning, in addition to a few extracurricular preparations for the week ahead – all signs that the school year has started once again – but I have my fingers crossed that the night will be free to curl up with Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ The Fixer and watch the last episode of Quantico on Netflix {guilty pleasures at their finest}. In the meantime, the start of a new month, I felt, deserved a new edition of High Five; it’s been far too long since I last shared one. How was your week?

[1] First up, if you’re looking for your next movie night selection, may I suggest A Royal Night Out? My sister and I watched it just last week, and it’s all sorts of adorable! Inspired by the nighttime adventures of the queen-to-be in England, the film follows Princesses Elizabeth and Margaret, played by the terrific Sarah Gadon and Bel Powley, when they take to the town on the night of VE Day. Shenanigans ensue, romance blooms, and, believe me, your smile only grows bigger as the movie goes on. It came out in the US this past December following its release in the UK, but if it escaped my notice, I’m sure you could have missed it too; here, then, is my recommendation to watch it soon :)

[2] The fall television season will be starting soon, but a few episodes still remain of summer favorites, mine being So You Think You Can Dance. The talent of those competing never fails to amaze me, and even more so this season, when the dancers are all between the ages of eight and thirteen. My sister and I have enjoyed the stunning weekly routines over the summer, along with Cat Deeley’s impeccable wardrobe, and we’re anxious to see how the competition will wrap up. While the two of us were bummed that our favorite dancer Tahini was eliminated right before the finale, we’ll still be rooting for the other four kiddos, J.T. , Kida, Emma, and Tate, when a winner is announced tomorrow night! Do you watch So You Think You Can Dance at all?

[3] It’s been so long since I last shared a High Five that this recommendation is long overdue, but I couldn’t let Sing Street escape without a mention! With a talented cast led by acclaimed director John Carney, Sing Street premiered to great success last spring and for good reason: the movie effectively brings the pop-rock music scene to 1980s Dublin. While the film itself is worth a watch, I also hope you’ll give the soundtrack a listen; it’s become my music of choice whenever I’m driving to and from school {my favorite tracks, if you’re curious, include “The Riddle of the Model” and “Drive It Like You Stole It”}. Carney also directed films Once and Begin Again, if you want further entertainment {and music to add to your Spotify playlists!}.

[4] As I mentioned above, I started my senior year of high school this past Wednesday! Cue the excitement. While I’ll need a couple of weeks to find my groove {my school’s new rotating schedule is an adjustment} and I’m certainly not a fan of the early wake-up time {I’d happily stay on the summer timeline}, I think the year is off to a strong start and there’s only more fun things ahead. All that said, I thought I’d take this opportunity to share my senior photos, taken by my sister, Lulu. We made a day trip out of it with a drive to Colt State Park – it’s lovely and quite peaceful if you’re ever in the area – and took several winning shots. Now it’s just a matter of picking which one to submit! If you’re in school, how is the new year going?

[5] Finally, I didn’t bake too much in the summer – apologies for the lack of recipes! – only because the heat and humidity don’t make for a very welcoming kitchen. Fortunately, fall weather is on its way, and I’ve been stocking up on cookbooks and recipes galore for the occasion. A favorite from the bunch? Baking with Less Sugar, developed by Flour Bakery owner Joanne Chang. I’m all for making baked goods healthier, and Chang provides her expert advice in a clean, well thought-out format. I haven’t made anything from it yet, but I do have my eye on the apple crisp recipe – perhaps it will be this coming week’s dessert – and if all goes well, I hope to make the stop into one of the Boston Flour bakeries this fall.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
Bella

3 thoughts on “High Five / 08

Say Hello!

