Top Seven Fall Television Shows

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayDid you have a relaxing Labor Day weekend? With the stormy weather and cooler temperatures that hit New England, it felt like fall – and even more so, when I prepared my binders and paperwork for the school year! As we say goodbye to summer and hello to autumn, I wanted to participate in a new seasonal Top Ten Tuesday. While the feature is typically devoted to literary affairs, the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish are switching it up this week with a prompt on fall television: what shows do we plan to watch? I know granting an hour or two to television is tough with school night commitments, but I’m making time for these seven shows. Are there any series you can’t wait to watch this fall? {And, as always, if you want to share a list of your own, grab all the details HERE!}

PitchWith a heavy academic course load coming my way, I’m glad I have several electives to balance my schedule, one of which is Social History through Sports – I’m excited to take it, only because I know next to nothing about athletics! In a similar vein, I can’t wait to watch Pitch this fall; a new program to hit FOX, it centers around the first female pitcher, played by actress Kylie Banbury, to join Major League Baseball. The premise is promising, the cast looks stellar, and I’m oh-so excited for the premiere. {starts September 22}

Crazy Ex-GirlfriendMy sister was on to something when she suggested we watch Crazy Ex-Girlfriend on Netflix; one episode in, and I declared it one of my favorite television shows of the summer! Combining the traditional motifs of musical theater with Rachel Bloom’s incredible comedic chops, the show follows lawyer Rebecca Bunch on her quest for true love and happiness. Since we finished our binge earlier in July, Lulu and I have been listening to the soundtrack on Spotify – we’re nothing if not ready for the October return. {starts October 21}

SupergirlCW has become home to many an excellent show, and now we can add Supergirl to the list! Though it first aired on CBS last year, it has settled nicely into its new station, and there’s now only a few weeks left until the second season premiere. I can’t wait to see how Superman, played by Teen Wolf alum Tyler Hoechlin, is incorporated into the storyline, and furthermore, I’m looking forward to coveting Kara’s wonderful wardrobe yet again :) {starts October 10}

ConvictionAnother new show I have my eye on? Conviction, starring Hayley Atwell, known for her role in Agent Carter. I love me a legal drama, and this ABC series, in which Atwell and her Conviction Integrity team investigate “cases where there is credible suspicion of wrongful conviction,” seems to fit the bill. I also have Shonda Rhimes favorites Scandal and How to Get Away with Murder to keep up with, but what’s one more show to add to the queue?! {starts October 3}

Jane the VirginTo continue my CW obsession is Jane the Virgin, the hilarious and heartwarming take on telenovelas that won my – and my sister’s! – heart this summer. I’m still not sure why we waited so long to finally give it a try {it has garnered widespread acclaim for good reason}, but nevertheless, Lulu and I are excited to see what’s next for Jane, Michael, Xo, and my favorite character, Rogelio. October couldn’t come soon enough! {starts October 17}

Designated SurvivorThis year’s election has more than enough political drama, so if I watch anything set in the White House, it has to be good. Thankfully, Designated Survivor looks like a worthy series to add to my fall schedule; as the title suggests, it puts the designated survivor, in this case, the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development, into the Oval Office after an explosion that kills the president and the other Cabinet members. It sounds both interesting and intriguing, if you ask me! {starts September 21}

Brooklyn Nine NineFinally, there are few things more comforting than Jake Peralta cracking jokes in his NYPD station, Diaz displaying her signature lack of emotion, or Scully and Hitchcock making their weekly goof. In other words? Brooklyn Nine-Nine never fails to make me laugh, and I know that it will be the perfect comedic antidote for any long and stressful school days {there’s bound to be one}. It returns in just two short weeks, and, as you can guess, I’m already counting down the days! {starts September 20}

Have a terrific Tuesday!
Bella

4 thoughts on “Top Seven Fall Television Shows

  1. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is a new find for me – I haven’t watched it yet but I’ve seen the trailer a couple of times to get a better feel for it! I’m glad to see that you’d recommend it. The idea is intriguing to me, but I’m not sure if I’d get annoyed by the main character or not. :P

    Jane the Virgin is also really funny. I’ve only watched a couple of episodes, but I’m liking what I’ve seen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it?! So happy to find a fellow fan :) And thank you so much for the recommendation! I just started New Girl on Netflix with my sister, but we’ll need a new show to try soon enough haha.

      Like

Say Hello!

