Eye on Art / 15

Hi friends!Eye on ArtIs your week off to a lovely start? After a fun-packed weekend with friends, I’ve started my summer job: working with incoming middle school students at an orientation program. I’ve been a counselor for the past few years, and I always love seeing them grow more comfortable with the building and schedule – in a matter of four days, no less! However, when the early wake-up time and humid classrooms lose their appeal {it’s bound to happen}, I’ll be happy to come home to a good book and a glass of lemonade. If you too need a remedy to the mid-week slump, I hope today’s edition of Eye on Art will do the job; this time around, I’m crushing on the work of three diverse, all talented, painters. What artists have caught your attention this month?

William BettsPointillism is a fascinating art form, and it’s one that has only grown in relevance in today’s digitalized, pixellated world. Case in point: William Betts, a New York based artist who utilizes his own machine to apply tiny dots of acrylic paint. The subjects of his pieces? Varying, unusual perspectives of everyday scenes, like the commute to work or a day at the beach. One look at his portfolio, and I was mesmerized by the care and detail he puts into each painting.

Picking a favorite proved impossible {when it is not?!}, so I instead chose to showcase a number of different pieces. In tune with the season, his Splash exhibition so easily captures a carefree lifestyle by the sea, but his Surveillance collection is just as interesting, particularly in that the works mimic the look of a security camera. Regardless of the setting, one thing’s for certain: I could stare at his artwork all day long. {website}

Charlotte TrouncePerhaps it’s my love of all things British, perhaps it’s my enthusiasm for color, or, maybe, it’s simply my eye for cute art, but I fell head over heels with Charlotte Trounce’s work when I came across an illustration of hers on Pinterest. Given her knack for print and pattern design, in addition to the colorful palette of her portfolio, it comes as no surprise that Charlotte has found so much success as a freelance artist – I’d hire her based on her floral doodles alone.

The line between playful and sophisticated, chic and whimsical, is tough to walk, but Charlotte makes the task seem effortless; I can imagine her hypnotic circles at home on a gallery wall just as I can see the veggie print in a child’s playroom. My own personal pick are the quick sketches, like the dress above, taken straight from the runway. It seems I have a weakness for stylish outfits, real or not. {website}

Jen SieversFinally, for anyone who might suggest abstract paintings lack artistic merit, I’d suggest they take a look at Jen Sievers’ portfolio: a collection of bright hues and geometric shapes. What her paintings lack in a distinct subject, they easily make up for in the vibrant display of brushstrokes and innovative canvases, everything from wood blocks to perspex. Her ultimate goal, as she writes on her site, is to express “joy, vitality and movement,” a job she more than achieves.

The contemporary color combinations pairs nicely with her modern forms, so much so that I wish I had the funds to admire the work in person. While I won’t have a Sievers original hanging in my room anytime, I can have her happy artwork adorn my desktop thanks to these Design Love Fest downloads. And with that, I ask: what better way to brighten your Tuesday than that? {website}

Have a terrific day!
B

3 thoughts on “Eye on Art / 15

Say Hello!

