March 2016 Monthly Recap

Hello!
Monthly RecapHappy Monday, friends! I’m surely not alone in thinking how crazy it is that April has already arrived; try as I may to savor each day, my junior year has gone by far too quickly for my liking. Fortunately, April happens to be one of my favorite months – you can’t go wrong with school vacation, dress weather, and porch reading – that I have nothing but excitement for the weeks ahead. Of course, March, like any month, deserves a proper goodbye, so I set aside schoolwork for a few hours to wrap it up with a monthly recap. Did your spring start on just as wonderful of a note?

Gospel of Winter{It’s winter no longer, but don’t let that stop you from picking up Brendan Kiely’s stunning debut, The Gospel of Winter.}

Reads: Due to a new trimester of classes and an intense few weeks of play preparation, Ciao Bella fell low on the priority list last month. I’m bummed I wasn’t able to schedule more time to drafting posts, but I like to think positively: it  simply means I’ll have more to share in April! In the meantime, find my thoughts on a lyrical literary novel by the one of the authors of All American Boys and a charming, colorful graphic novel that has picked up more than a few awards.

  • The Gospel of Winter by Brendan Kiely | “Kiely allows the themes of betrayal and tradition and intense hurt to define the story and with it, the audience’s reactions. Such controlled use of themes is difficult for even a seasoned author, so it’s a promising sign for any of Kiely’s future publications.”
  • Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson | “Just as commendable as the character and plot development is Jamieson’s artwork. Each frame serves a purpose, demonstrating action or emotion, while the bright splashes of color invite you into Astrid’s world, whether that’s along the streets in sweltering summer heat or in the roller derby arena on the night of the first bout.”

March BooksThe theme of the year thus far seems to be “quality over quantity” – that is, I may not be reading as at rapid of a pace as I usually do, but the majority of books I’ve read would be ones I’d recommend. Among the six I finished in March are two new favorites: When Breath Becomes Air, a gorgeous, heart-breaking piece of work I can’t wait to revisit, and Franny and Zooey, a classic that managed to match my love of Catcher in the Rye.

Eats: I didn’t share any recipes in March, but that’s not to say I wasn’t busy in the kitchen! When things get busy, I tend to revisit old favorites {think brownies, blondies, and shortbread cookies}, rather than experiment with something new. Fingers crossed a new recipe will come your way – and into your cookie jar! – this month.

Rowan Blanchard{An actor, writer, advocate, and all-around pretty cool person, Rowan Blanchard has me convinced that there’s nothing stopping her.}

More: When I wasn’t talking book reviews, you might have found me writing another edition of “High Five!” Since introducing it in February, the weekly posts have grown into a feature I look forward to writing; you can find March’s rounds here and here. In honor of International Women’s Day, I wrote about eight women I consider role models, and of course, as is tradition here at Ciao Bella, I also shared my spring TBR list {there’s much to be read!}.

DesignLoveFest Oh La La{via DesignLoveFest}

Favorites: If you’re in the blog reading mood, I’ve got you covered; I didn’t write many posts last month, but I certainly read quite a few. Mondays are rough, so make someone’s morning and spread the blog love!

April{via My Cute Graphics}

Looking Ahead: April is bound to be lovely, if this past weekend was any indication! A few things on the agenda: I’ll be seeing a production of School of Rock this week, going for my license test, and later in the month, celebrating the birthdays of a few close friends, as well as starting rehearsals for Footloose and touring another college or two. What will you be doing in April?

Have a delightful day!
Bella

4 thoughts on “March 2016 Monthly Recap

  1. I love Rowan, and that photo of her is absolutely adorable (she’s going to be a stunner when she gets older). It’s refreshing to have child stars who seem to be very socially aware. When Breath Becomes Air is on my April TBR. I purchased a hardcopy because I have a feeling I’m going to want to keep this on my shelf for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t agree more – she’s gorgeous! I can’t wait to see where her career brings her :) And good decision – I’m thinking of buying a copy myself I enjoyed it so much! Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  2. i had my spring break last month so april is going to be a particularly long month as teachers and students gear up for culminatings & exams with no breaks at all. but i can’t help but be happy because i love spring! not having the sun go down at 4 definitely helps my productivity! anyway hope you enjoy your break and good luck with footloose & college visits (i’m starting to look at university tours as well!). can’t wait for those new posts, PARTICULARLY the cookie recipes. i made cookies by myself for the second time in my life (double rich chocolate chip cookies) and they turned out decently for only my second time baking alone but i think i still have a lot to learn baking-wise so i’ll be looking forward to your posts for guidance. and YES dress weather. i am so unbelievably excited. i’ve planned outfits centering dresses since january and i’m so over the moon that the weather’s finally warming up to the point when i can break them out! hope you have a great april, bella! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Annie, hello! Thanks for the sweet comment – I always love to hear from you :) And, ooh, that’s rough – I can’t imagine April is any fun school-wise! Thankfully, you’re right, it’s hard not to smile come spring, and the sunshine certainly helps my productivity as well! And thank you! I’m looking forward to stage managing Footloose, and the college process has me super excited {best of luck to you! It’s so weird to think that high school ends in little over a year}.

      And your baking adventure made my day! If you ever need some beginner’s recommendations, let me know – I have plenty of recipes I can send your way. Happy April!

      Like

Say Hello!

