High Five / 01

Hi!High Five OneHappy Friday! Thank goodness the weekend is here, friends, as it’s been quite a busy few days – I hope you don’t mind the late night post as a result! After over four years of posting my weekly Love Lists {where does time go?}, I’ve decided it’s time to switch things up a bit with a new Friday series, High Five. In a similar fashion, I’ll share five things – highlights, if you will – from my week, but it’s a little less formal, a little more personal, and, most importantly, exciting to see where it goes. What do you have planned for the weekend?

[1] The big day is almost here: the statewide one-act play festival I’m involved in is this weekend! Over the past nine months, I and another student director have worked to turn the story of our chosen script into a fully staged production, and after what feels like weeks upon weeks of after-school rehearsals, late nights gathering props and costumes, and endless email exchanges, we’ll be competing against seven other schools in the preliminary round tomorrow. I’m so incredibly proud of our cast and crew, and no matter what the final result is, I’m expecting a fun and memorable day. If our timed technical rehearsal and school performance are any indication, however, all should go well! {Above, you’ll find a snapshot from a festival rehearsal last year – you’ll see I’m in full stage manager mode}.

[2] To continue on the theater topic, I recently downloaded Sara Bareilles’ What’s Inside: Songs from Waitress, and believe me, to say I’m obsessed with the album would be an understatement. Sara not only wrote the music and lyrics for the new musical Waitress, but she also recorded her own version of the show’s songs in her spare time. I’ve long enjoyed Sara’s music, so What’s Inside has a welcome home on my regular playlist, even if it does have me wishing for tickets to see a performance in person. After you download the tracks yourself {including my favorites, “What’s Inside” and “Never Ever Getting Rid of Me”} I’ll encourage you to watch the movie the show is inspired by as well – both are an utter delight.

[3] After seeing the musical Beautiful in the fall, I feel as if I notice Carole King in the media more than ever. I’m not complaining, though; I’m fascinated by her story and am convinced I could listen to her singing all day long. She was the most recent subject on American Masters, and my sister and I were fortunate enough to catch her episode when it aired last week. I loved learning more information about her life and career that the musical didn’t cover, and I adored the snippets from the early 80s that the producers were able to include. The short film is available in its entirety online, but I’ll lead you to my favorite part of the show: her acoustic recording of “(You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman.” It’s hard not to play it on repeat.

[4] When my mind wasn’t focused on theater, music, or schoolwork in the past week, I tried to sneak in a movie or a two, including the new biopic, Race. I’ll admit, my sports history knowledge is limited, but my mom, sister, and I were intrigued by the movie devoted to Jesse Owen’s early running career, and after seeing it, I’m happy to say that we all enjoyed it! Stephen James is stellar in his portrayal of the Olympic champion {He’s known for Selma, which I need to grab from the library}, and Jason Sudeikis strikes an emotional chord as Owens’ coach, Larry Snyder. The film certainly isn’t flawless, but as a causal movie-goer and history fan, I’d consider it an hour or two well spent. Have you seen any movies as of late?

[5] Finally, my February vacation marked the exciting, if slightly scary, process of touring colleges! It’s crazy to think that I’ll be a high school senior in a few short months, and it’s even more bizarre when I consider how soon I’ll be applying to schools. Thankfully, my first one had the perfect end: a stop into the Meeting Street Cafe for lunch – and a rather large chocolate chip cookie.

Have a lovely weekend!
Bella

5 thoughts on “High Five / 01

  1. Good luck for your production! That sounds exciting, I bet it’ll be fantastic.
    I recently watched Pride and Prejudice and Zombies this week, and I loved it! One of the best zombie movies I’ve seen and I love how it integrated it with the traditional P&P culture and atmosphere! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Josie! We moved on to the next round, so I think all went well :)

      And I so want to see Pride and Prejudice and Zombies! Your praise just makes me more excited to grab it on DVD.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

