loving >> week 167

Hello!Love ListHappy Saturday, everyone! Is your 2016 off to a fantastic start? I won’t lie, the past few days have tuckered me out – the shift from winter break to a full school week is never easy, and the cold I’m battling surely didn’t help – so I hope to use today and tomorrow to read, relax, and recharge. Fortunately, that should be easy with my weekend plans: finishing up The Tiara on the Terrace, enjoying the new season of Galavant, and attending a directors’ meeting for the one-act play festival I’m involved in. Before that fun, however, I figured it was about time for another Love List – the first of the new year! What’s up for your weekend?

Sherlock The Abominable Bride1 ♥ Sherlock: The Abominable Bride Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat, creators of BBC’s Sherlock, know how to start the year off with a bang! The premiere of the Sherlock special, “The Abominable Bride,” was last Friday, and I personally couldn’t have asked for a better bridge between seasons three and four {which is set to air next winter – forever of a time, I know}. Unlike previous episodes, the latest Sherlock and Watson case is not set in the modern age, but in the time of Arthur Conan Doyle himself. The writers weave the Victorian mystery with the current storyline in a clever structure, and Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are top-notch, as always. In fear of spoiling it any further, I’ll end with a reminder: an encore broadcast airs tomorrow night, if you want to tune in or watch it again.

In the Heights2 ♥ The In the Heights Soundtrack Ask me about Hamilton, and I’ll immediately encourage you to give the tracks a listen. Exclaim that you too are a Hamilton fan, and I’ll declare us friends there on the spot. Tell me that you’ve see Hamilton, and I’ll be green with envy {and then ask you to describe it in great detail}. In all seriousness, I have nothing but praise for the Hamilton album – it was, in fact, what led me to look into Lin Manuel Miranda’s other production, In the Heights. I gifted the soundtrack to my sister, a Hamilton and Broadway fan herself, for Christmas, but it was only until this past week that I listened to acts one and two in full. I’m happy to say I adored the salsa and rap inspired numbers, and I’m sure this won’t be the last time I listen to it! :) What music have you been loving lately?

Little Victories3 ♥ Little Victories: Perfect Rules for Imperfect Rules If you’re looking for a humorous way to spend your afternoon, I think reading Jason Gay’s memoir, Little Victories: Perfect Rules for Imperfect Living, will do you well! In my effort to actually check out the nonfiction books I have on my TBR list, I grabbed it from my local library before the year’s end and finished it that same night. Gay has an effortless and entertaining writing style, and his anecdotes flow into one another with ease. In addition, the essays provide insights relatable to any audience, regardless of lifestyles or age. If you’re still not convinced it’s worth a look, listen to the author, who stated that it’s a “rule book for people who hate rule books.” You can’t go wrong with that.

December Movies4 ♥ Recent Movie Outings I’m no avid moviegoer, but even I can tell you biopics have a reputation of being a hit or a miss. Thankfully, the films I saw on my vacation fall in the former category, earning my full recommendation! Joy, loosely based on inventor and self-made millionaire Joy Mangano, benefits from an excellent cast and an engaging story; it had me emotionally invested and on the edge of my seat until the final credits rolled. I also caught the highly praised Spotlight last weekend and enjoyed every minute. I’m not surprised it has received so many accolades and awards; the actors, filming techniques, and story {based after the work of The Boston Globe Spotlight team in uncovering the Catholic Church sexual abuse cover-up} are nothing short of outstanding. Have you seen either film?

Boden Spring 20165 ♥ Boden Spring 2016 Line Finally, be still my beating heart – Boden unveiled their new spring/summer line! The rollout was a lovely start to my week, and though winter has only just begun, I already have my eye on several pieces. Among them? The Cassie Embroidered Top {I love the pop of color in the flowers}, the Tassel Sandals, the Alicia Day Dress {the cut is one of my favorites, and the print is perfect for spring}, the Georgina Top, the Slim Graphic T-Shirt {a good motto to live by, if I ever saw one}, and finally, the Jersey Lined Jacket. I’m starting my saving now, so come spring, my closet will be stocked with a few new – and stylish! – pieces.

With that, I wish you a terrific weekend! I hope it’s all sorts of wonderful.
Bella

4 thoughts on “loving >> week 167

  1. The Sherlock special was fantastic– I loved how they went back and forth between the past and the present. I don’t know how I’m going to wait until next winter for the next season!

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

