Sixteen Anticipated Releases for 2016

Hello, hello!

Top Ten TuesdayI laugh about it with friends and family, but it’s all too true: my TBR list grows with every visit to the library and every click on Goodreads. What can I say? I’m a curious reader, easily captivated by a gorgeous cover or an interesting synopsis. However, for every book I add on a whim, it’s matched by a beloved author’s release I’m anxiously awaiting to hit shelves. In honor of the new year and in participation with The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday, I’ve chosen several such novels I can’t wait to read in 2016 {sixteen for twenty-sixteen, of course!}. Consider these my priorities for the year – it’s my hope I’ll have each and every one read by next December. Fortunately, next year’s line-up of books have me all sorts of excited, so completing the goal should be a breeze. Which novels are on your list?

The Mother Daughter book CampFirst up, I’m counting down the days until I can get a copy of Heather Vogel Frederick’s The Mother Daughter Book Camp, the final installment in her long-popular Mother Daughter Book Club series. I’ve practically grown up with the characters – bookish Emma, kind Jess, stylish Megan, confident Becca, and sporty Cassidy – so it will be a bittersweet return to the story. I’ve chosen not to worry, though; Frederick is sure to deliver a heartwarming ending. {out May 3}

When We CollidedI thought Emery Lord was a strong contender when I read her debut, Open Road Summer, but it was only when I read her sophomore novel, The Start of Me and You, that she secured a spot on my auto-read list for years to come. When We Collided is her third book, and from what I can tell, it’s her best one yet. Though Lord tackles the heavy topics of grief and mental illness, I have no doubt of her ability to craft a powerful story. Can April come sooner? {out April 8}

The Unexpected EverythingWhenever I recommend one of Morgan Matson’s novels to a friend, I describe the author as the queen of YA contemporary. It may seem silly, but the title has merit, as I’ve yet to read a Matson book that I haven’t adored {see here and here for proof!}. I expect no less of a case with her next book, The Unexpected Everything, coming out in May. A political scandal, “an insane number of dogs,” and one of 2016’s best covers? Count me in. {out May 3}

Salt to the SeaI’ve read only one other novel by Ruta Sepetys {her outstanding Out of the Easy}, but even that last a lasting enough of an impression that I’ve eyed her other work ever since. Though Between Shades of Gray remains on my shelf unread – a problem I’ll have to fix soon! – I’m looking forward to her next release, Salt to the Sea. Set in the final years of WWII, the story recounts an oft-overlooked tragedy of the war: the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff. Intriguing, no? {out February 2}

A Clatter of JarsLisa Graff is one of my favorite middle grade authors, something I say with full confidence having found her novels consistently well-written. I’m quick to recommend each of her books, but A Tangle of Knots, a creative and engaging example of magical realism, holds a special place in my heart. You can then imagine my excitement over the companion novel, A Clatter of Jars, slated for release in May 2016. I’m head over heels for it – and I haven’t even read it yet! {out May 24}

The Geek's Guide to Unrequited LoveIt’s rare that I grow so excited over a novel from an author I haven’t read from previously, but, hey, here we are! Credit the pitch-perfect title, the even better cover, or the charming premise {the author describes it as “Pretty in Pink goes to comic con”}, but no matter what, The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love, Sarvenaz Tash’s second young adult novel, has a guaranteed spot in my reading pile come the summer. I’m all for kooky love stories. {out June 14}

Poison is Not PoliteJust as I eagerly await the next season of Downton Abbey long after British audiences have already obsessed over them, so have I waited for the American publication of Robin Stevens’ second Wells and Wong mystery, Poison is Not Polite. Young sleuths Daisy and Hazel were among the most memorable characters I read about this year, so I’m delighted they are back to their detective work at Daisy’s glamorous manor. Will it live up to the hype? Without a doubt. {out April 26}

The Tiara on the TerraceIf you, like me, are in need of another middle grade mystery for 2016, I suggest we anticipate the release of Kristen Kittscher’s The Tiara on the Terrace together. Even having read it two years ago, The Wig in the Window remains one of my favorite MG books to date, so it’s no wonder I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel! I plan to put my Amazon gift card to good use by purchasing a copy, which means I’m only days away from reuniting with Grace and Sophie. {out January 5}

Summer Days and Summer NightsThough I was underwhelmed by Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss, I believe it fully to be a case of a book for the wrong reader, not a bad author. Perkins is clearly a talented writer and, as she proved with last year’s holiday anthology, a talented editor too. I couldn’t be happier that she is bringing together even more famous YA names {think: Libba Bray, Nina LaCour} for a summer edition of love stories. I know what I’ll be doing on my last day of junior year! {out June 14}

A Tyranny of PetticoatsAnother short story collection I’ve been crushing on for months on end? Jessica Spotswood’s A Tyranny of Petticoats, a collection that brings readers “on a thrill ride through history with American girls charting their own course.” I, for one, think YA literature can always benefit from strong female protagonists, and this anthology promises plenty. Authors Elizabeth Wein and Marissa Meyer are both contributing, so I’m hard-pressed to imagine me not liking it. {out March 8}

Highly Illogical BehaviorI read John Corey Whaley’s Noggin just last year and quickly found the unique plot and distinct voice irresistible. I’m hoping the same will happen with his 2016 release, Highly Illogical Behavior, a story about an agoraphobic teen and an ambitious aspiring psychologist. The colorful cover grabs your interest, the story catches your attention, and I can count on Whaley for a good book, so only one problem remains: that May 10th is not yet here! {out May 10}

The Family Fletcher Takes Rock IslandDana Alison Levy’s 2014 debut, The Misadventures of Family Fletcher, was a pleasant surprise; I didn’t think I would fall in love with it so much, and I certainly didn’t expect to be in such anxious anticipation over its sequel, The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island, a year later. Already earning much praise, Levy’s sophomore novel has me looking forward to spending more time with one of my favorite fictional families – likely in one sitting with a glass of lemonade in hand. {out May 10}

The Inside of OutJenn Marie Thorne was one of many debut authors whose work I devoured this year. She’s also one of the few that already has a book not only in the works, but planned for publication. Her next novel, titled The Inside of Out, has quite the storyline: Daisy, in support of her best friend, goes full steam ahead in advocating for the LGBTQIA cause, only to have her societal privilege backfire. A diverse contemporary, by a skilled author no less, is right up my alley. {out July 10}

Outrun the MoonStacey Lee is another author who quickly found a home in the YA world. I was blown away by her debut, Under a Painted Sky, over the summer for its careful characterization and rich historical detail, and I’m sure she’ll bring the same skill set to her next book, Outrun the Moon. Lee explores a setting – Chinatown in the early 1900’s – that I don’t see very often on shelves, so here’s hoping or, rather, knowing she’ll do the period justice. {out May 24}

The Great American WhateverTime escapes me, blog posts go unfinished, books return to the library unread – life happens, and that’s the only excuse I can provide for not yet having read Tim Federle’s middle grade series, Better Nate Than Ever. They sound delightful, so I’m making it my mission to read those, along with Federle’s equally-good-sounding The Great American Whatever, in the coming year. I believe the well-designed cover and glowing reviews are strong indicators of my enjoyment. {out March 29}

The Last Boy and Girl in the WorldFinally, I think Siobhan Vivian can do no wrong – or, at least, that’s what I like to think having obsessed over her Burn for Burn series co-written with Jenny Han. Her next novel, The Last Boy and Girl in the World, is a stand-alone, but it looks to me just as engaging and just as fun of a read as her other books. As the title suggests, it presents an answer to a relevant looming question: what do you when weather wreaks lasting havoc on your town? Color me intrigued. {out April 26}

Have the most wonderful Tuesday!
Bella

Psst. Stalking Goodreads for new books? I can make it easier: catch the 2016 debuts I can’t wait to read here and the books I read and loved in 2015 over here.

26 thoughts on “Sixteen Anticipated Releases for 2016

    • Oh, I’m so glad to hear that about The Tiara on the Terrace! My copy is already pre-ordered, so I hope to read it soon. And fingers crossed the newest MDBC is as good as it sounds :)

      Like

  1. AHH, so many fabulous books here Bella! I am so excited for Salt to the Sea and Summer Days & Summer Nights. Crossing my fingers that they turn out to be as amazing as they sound! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post + choices! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also having a growing TBR list but ya know that’s what us readers do! I definitely want to read When We Collide and The Unexpected Everything because those authors are at the top of my favorite authors list. I was so happy to see Summer Days and Summer Nights on Goodreads the other day! I really enjoyed the holiday story one and I hadn’t heard anyone talking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First, A Tyranny of Petticoats sounds amazing! It’s been a while since I’ve read an anthology. Second, I think I want to read the Great American Whatever based on the title alone. I plan to avoid this synopsis and any related reviews until I pluck this unsuspecting book off the shelf.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope A Tyranny of Petticoats is as good as it sounds! And I love that idea – there’s nothing better than going into a book “blind,” so to speak.

      Like

  4. i’ve never read the mother daughter book club series but have always seen it around. the fact that the last book takes place in a summer camp has piqued my interest – i love books set at camp – so i think i’ll be picking up this series very soon! i also love the idea of it, it just sounds so sweet.

    super excited for the unexepcted everything and when we collided as well! emery and morgan are two of my favourite authors.

    and also salt to the sea! ruta is a historical fiction writer GENIUS and you have to read between shades of gray! it is soooo good. i think i liked out of the easy a bit more than i did between shades of gray but bsog is also really really good.

    outrun the sun and highly illogical behaviour both sound fantastic! thank you so much for this awesome list, bella! added so many great new books to my goodreads tbr :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Annie, I hope you love the Mother Daughter Book Club! It ranks high on my list of favorite series. And, yes, I can’t wait for the two of those. I LOVE Emery and Morgan’s work.

      BSOG has been sitting on my shelf for months, so it’s only a matter of time until I read it! I’ve heard nothing but good things. Thank you for your lovely comment, and happy reading! :)

      Like

Say Hello!

