My Top Ten Debuts of 2016

Hello!

Top Ten TuesdayIf there’s anything I like almost as much as the holiday season itself {that’s high praise coming from this Christmas fanatic}, it’s the fun of December book talk. As the year comes to a close, I like to look back on what I read and loved and look ahead to what I can’t wait to read: What were my favorite reads of the year? Which authors did I read again and again? What novels made my TBR list? To begin this period of reflection, I’m taking part in The Broke and the Bookish‘s popular feature, Top Ten Tuesday, to share ten debuts that will be published next year. As I’ve repeatedly mentioned, I like nothing better than supporting first-time authors, and fortunately, 2016’s group of writers looks like one talented bunch! Which new debuts do you have your eye on?

A Study in CharlotteFirst on my list is the highly anticipated debut from Brittany Cavallaro, A Study in Charlotte. I’m always up for a good mystery, but when the grandchildren of Holmes and Watson are the ones sleuthing? My enjoyment is near guaranteed. Praise has been in abundance since the release of advanced copies, but I wouldn’t expect anything otherwise; Sherlock adaptations rarely disappoint. {out March 1}

A Fierce and Subtle PoisonThe designer in me fell in love with the bold and vibrant cover of Samantha Mabry’s first novel, A Fierce and Subtle Poison – so much so that I added it to my TBR list without one glance at the synopsis! Further research has shown me that the captivating cover is paired with an equally colorful story, one where “legends collide with reality” in the “magical, dangerous world of a girl filled with poison.” Excited yet? {out April 16}

Frannie and TruThe debut Frannie and Tru is another interesting study in cover design, and thankfully so! The unique layout drew my attention to a story that may have otherwise flown under my radar. In her first publication, author Karen Hattrup explores both family structure and sexuality when Truman is sent to live with his cousin Frannie for a summer. Only a few pieces of information are available, but I’m certainly intrigued. {out May 31}

Paper WishesOf course, one can’t forget about the middle grade releases in the upcoming debuts discussion either – Lois Sepahban’s historical fiction novel Paper Wishes is one of many I’m looking forward to reading! Set in 1942 following the attack on Pearl Harbor, the story addresses the war’s impact on Japanese-Americans in what is said to be “stunning, heartfelt prose.” I hope to grab my own copy in just a few weeks. {out January 5}

Scarlett Epstein Hates It HereI all too often forget the effect of fanfiction in pop culture, simply because I was never one to get into it, but I’m interested to see how it plays a role in Anna Breslaw’s Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here. Perhaps my excitement stems from my sheer lack of knowledge, perhaps it comes from the conflict of life on and offline, but whatever the case, one thing’s for certain: this debut has a spot in my spring reading pile. {out April 19}

My Seventh Grade Life in TightsIf you haven’t already made plans to read Brooks Benjamin’s middle grade novel, My Seventh Grade Life in Tights, I hope you’ll be motivated to do so now! With an eye-catching and cover {those warm colors are intense}, a humorous title {I love a good rhyme}, and a unique premise to boot {middle grade meets dance crew}, I have no doubt that this will become a widespread favorite when it’s published in April. Count me in. {out April 12}

Enter Title HereRecently, #RealYA trended on Twitter, as avid readers of all ages shared what actually happens in high school in comparison to the usual contemporary novel. The comments were insightful and, furthermore, emphasized the utter lack of a typical modern-day student in young adult books. While I can’t guarantee the realism of Rahul Kanakia’s debut, Enter Title Here, the mere mention of “an habitual overachiever” as the protagonist has me interested. {out August 2}

Don't Get CaughtIf the subtitle, “Let the prank war begin,” is any indication, I will be laughing throughout all of Kurt Dinan’s Don’t Get Caught. In the debut, main character Max is invited to join the Chaos Club, only to find that the organization is a set up. What’s a student to do? Take revenge, of course. I’m expecting plenty of humorous scenes, a well-paced heist, and memorable bits of dialogue. Also, this comes out on April Fool’s Day – does it get any better than that? {out April 1}

Cure for the Common UniverseCure for the Common Universe may only be Christian McKay Heidicker’s first novel, but if his next work of fiction is anywhere near as creative, heart-warming, and entertaining as his debut sounds, he’s bound for success in the YA field. A brief synopsis, if you’re interested: the protagonist has to make a date when he’s stuck in video game rehab. Here’s hoping the library will be quick to order it in June! {out June 14}

Suffer LoveFinally, ever since I laid eyes on the cover of Ashley Herring Blake’s debut, Suffer Love, I have eagerly been awaiting its release. Pitched as a story “about first love, family dysfunction, and the fickle hand of fate,” it sounds right up my alley; contemporary novels, if you haven’t already guessed, are my favorite. I have a feeling that I will fall in love with Hadley and Sam just as quickly as the early reviewers – those lucky ducks! {out May 3}

Have the most terrific Tuesday!
Bella

12 thoughts on “My Top Ten Debuts of 2016

  1. Don’t Get Caught and Cure for The Common Universe sound so good! I hadn’t heard of really any of these books before your post! Now I have 10 new books on my TBR. Plus they all have beautiful covers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful graphics this week, Bella! I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I haven’t heard of the majority of these books you’re excited for! What am I doing with my life?! *adds them all to Goodreads* I’m really excited for A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE too though! I hope you get to read some of these soon :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jen! :) And I know, I’ve had my Goodreads account open all afternoon! There are so many good books. I too hope I can get to a lot of them in the new year!

      Like

Say Hello!

