loving >> week 165

Love ListHello, and happy weekend! Because of this week’s quiet posting schedule {rest assured, as I mentioned on Twitter, it shouldn’t last much longer once Thanksgiving break hits}, I’m popping in with a Saturday Love List. It’s the perfect way to start your morning – or, at least, I like to think so! My weekend plans? I’m attending my second portrait painting class out of five this morning, followed by an afternoon of essay writing; for Sunday, I’m thinking a day of magazine-editing, crafting, and baking is in order. Before that fun begins, however, here’s what I’m loving…

Mockingjay Part 21 ♥ Mockingly, Part Two I first read The Hunger Games in middle school, devouring the entire trilogy during my winter vacations; its film adaptation was released only a month later, to my seventh grade self’s delight. Since then, I have yet to return to the books, but I have continued to watch and enjoy the movies, including Catching Fire and Mockingjay, Part One.

The franchise is now complete with yesterday’s release of Mockingjay, Part Two, the fourth and final film in what NPR describes is an “a potent, antiwar saga – bleak [and] savage.” I’m super excited to catch it in theaters – as you know, Thanksgiving weekend was made for going to the movies :) – and I hope I find it just as enjoyable as its predecessors. With Jennifer Lawrence starring once again as Katniss, though, I have little doubt about its success.

Adele 25Adele’s 25 The music industry and social media alike were abuzz yesterday with one thing only: Adele’s most recent album 25! Since she teased us with “Hello” earlier in the season, I’ve been counting down the days until the record’s release, and I’m happy to report that Adele didn’t disappoint. Though my mom and sister snagged it only yesterday, we’ve already listened through the entire album not once, but twice, and I’m sure those won’t be the last times we listen to it this weekend {It will likely be on repeat for the rest of November}. With the exception of the incredible single “Hello,” because you’ve surely heard that already, have you listened to any songs from 25?

A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving3 ♥ A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving There’s a tradition for everyone in the holiday season, from enjoying a beloved Thanksgiving dish to decorating the tree with the same ornaments year after year. I, for one, don’t take my Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas television specials lightly, planning well in advance when I will watch each program and movie – I’m a kid at heart in this sense!

For Turkey Day, A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving will forever be a favorite; the characters are hard not to love, and the charming nostalgia of it all makes me smile. If you want to watch too {which, hi, we’re destined to become friends!}, tune in to ABC this upcoming Tuesday at 8 pm EST. Also on my calendar? It’s Your 50th Christmas, Charlie Brown, also premiering on ABC at 8 on Monday, November 30. Yes and yes.

Brain Pickings4 ♥ Brain Pickings I like a funny Buzzfeed post or trending listicle as much as the next person {particularly after a long day or week}, but my day-to-day reading, the sites I regularly check, publish content that is less “fluff” and more “substance.” In other words, I like to read articles that expand my way of thinking or posts that teach or display creativity.

Perhaps this is why I took such a natural liking to Brain Pickings, a site dedicated to, as its founder Maria Popova states, “[tapping] into our mental pool of resources… and [combining] them in extraordinary new ways.” I look forward to reading the articles as they are published, and I find each and every one fascinating! I have to thank Grace, who is an outstanding writer in her own right, for leading me to the site, and I now hope to do the same for you. My advice: I like looking at it best with a warm drink and notebook in hand.

The Addams Family5 ♥ The Addams Family Finally, November seems to be the month of theater! My week ended on a good note with a local community production of The Addams Family. This particular theater group never fails to impress me with their acting and singing skills, and it was no different of a case last night; the entire cast and crew brought the frequently-funny and always-strange characters alive on stage. Have you ever seen a production of The Addams Family?

Have the most wonderful weekend!
Bella

8 thoughts on “loving >> week 165

  1. I must say that I really enjoyed Mockingjay Part 2, when I watched it on Thursday! It was great! And of course I was fangirling over Peeta and the ending of it all. That ending was what I was waiting for.
    Your post just reminded me that I must listen to Adele’s new album! I can’t believe I forgot about it! I fact, I will listen to it right this instance. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed Mockingjay Part Two! My dad and I plan to go out this weekend to see it; I’m so excited, even if I have to prepare for a sad ending!

      And, yes, Adele rocks! I hope you’re liking the album just as much as I am :)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, shucks, thank you! :) What a daymaker. So many of my friends have enjoyed Mockingjay Part Two, so here’s hoping I like it as well! And, yes, Adele’s newest songs are all sorts of amazing; I can’t get enough of them. Thank you for commenting! :)

      Like

  2. I haven’t watched the first part of Mockingjay, but I’m hoping it’s as badass as the previous movies. (I loved Catching Fire because Johanna is my fave!)

    Flailing my arms for Adele’s new album. I haven’t gotten around to sitting down and really listening it, but I’m sure when I do, it’s gonna blow me out of the water. She’s a Queen.

    I always love the holidays because of the classic movie and tv specials that are shown like the Charlie Brown specials. They get me all situated in the holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catching Fire was my favorite of the films I’ve watched as well! I’m seeing Mockingjay in a few weeks – here’s hoping it’s as good as the other three. And you’re absolutely right. Adele IS a Queen, and 25 definitely proves that! I have little doubt you’ll love it when you get the chance to listen to it completely.

      Like

  3. Ah, I have been so excited to listen to “25” – I’ve heard such beautiful things said about it, and I simply can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. Have a beautiful Thanksgiving, Charlie Brown specials and all – I think there is so much to be thankful for this year, and there has never been a better time to celebrate it all. <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s absolutely wonderful – Adele never ceases to amaze me with her stunning voice. And, thank you, I had a lovely Thanksgiving with my family! I hope you enjoyed the holiday as well.

      Like

Say Hello!

