Pumpkin Chocolate Bars

Hi!

Pumpkin Chocolate BarsFirst experiences – your first word or first book, first game or first performance – are hard to forget. The thrill of learning something new, however small or large it may be, makes for a vivid memory, and I speak from experience: I remember fondly the first recipe I baked {brownies, if you’re curious!}, in the sense that I was no longer working alongside my mom, but rather, “on my own.” Today, baking brownies couldn’t be easier, but at the time, taking the batch out of the oven was an accomplishment like no other.

I was recently asked why I love to bake, and I surprisingly found myself at a loss for words. Is it the precision and organization baking requires? Is it how food, baked goods in particular, can bring people together? Is it seeing a mess of ingredients turn into an impressive result? With time to think, I believe it’s all that and more. Cookies, cupcakes, bars, and the like are delicious, of course, but what they offer can go far beyond their actual taste. Whether it be a birthday cake, a batch of cookies, or these crazy good pumpkin chocolate chip bars, it’s not always the recipe that matters, but the time spent making them. I’m pretty sure my younger self would like where those brownies landed me.

Let’s get this out of the way before we begin: PSF {Pumpkin Spice Fatigue} is truly a thing, but trust me, these bars are worth it :)

Pumpkin Chocolate BarsPumpkin Chocolate Bars Adapted from Martha Stewart

ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin-pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 heaping cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

to make

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Using an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar. Beat in the egg, vanilla, and the pumpkin puree.
  3. At a lower speed, mix in the dry ingredients: the flour, pumpkin-pie spice, baking soda, and salt. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.
  4. Line a 9-inch by 13-inch baking pan with aluminum foil, leaving an overhang on each side. Spread the batter into the pan, and smooth on top with a spatula.
  5. Bake bard for thirty-five minutes; a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean.
  6. Let cool before lifting and removing the foil. Enjoy!

Have a terrific start to your week!
Bella

Psst. I reviewed The Notorious Pagan Jones, an outstanding historical fiction novel, over the weekend at Lit Up Review. Take a peek at the post HERE!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Bars

Say Hello!

