September 2015 Monthly Recap

Hi!Monthly RecapIn the wise words of Ms. L. M. Montgomery, “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” I’m super-duper excited about the weeks ahead, but, as with every month, I want to take another look at September before the crisp fall weather and fun of Halloween sets in. I find it hard not to be happy during this time of year, and that statement certainly held true throughout September; there were multiple events and posts that made my month! How is your autumn coming along?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone{Cue the applause: I’ve finally begun the Harry Potter series! I’ve finished and reviews Books One and Two, so my next step is to start the third novel, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I’m excited.}

Reads: My high reading count of the summer translates to a number of reviews for the fall! From a contemporary novel with Dolly Parton references to a memoir set along the Appalachian Trail, variety was aplenty in last month’s reviews. Furthermore, I began posting as a full-time writer on Lit Up Review, so I’ve included those links as well. Hopefully, all of these serve as motivation to pick up a new book!

  • Kissing in America by Margo Rabb | “Rabb’s writing is gorgeous; she has a way with words that hooks itself around the reader and doesn’t let go until the very last page.”
  • Like It Never Happened by Emily Adrian | “The book took me by surprise, dazzling me with its realistic cast of characters and intriguing me with its complex plot, and it left me in eager anticipation for Adrian’s next release.”
  • Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy | “Will is an outstanding main character, her friends and family show a similar level of development, and the plot will have you reading it in one sitting. You really can’t go wrong.”
  • A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson | “Following author Bryson and former classmate Stephan Katz as they attempt to hike the Appalachian Trail, the popular book brings humor, history, and heart to the backdrop of nature.”
  • The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan | “From readers’ first introduction to the Joy Luck Club to the closing scene, Tan infuses her work with the power of family.”
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling | “Rowling created the magical environment with impeccable attention to detail, and I found myself so immersed in the setting that I flew through the first book in one sitting.”
  • Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella“I admire the author for tackling Audrey’s anxiety disorder in a positive manner, infusing the long journey to recovery with humor, charm, and hope, but never losing respect for the topic at hand.”
  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas {a new review posted on Lit Up Review} | “Thomas demonstrates an impressive ability in crafting realistic characters for any writer, let alone a debut author.”
  • Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein {a throwback review posted on Lit Up Review} | “Her characters are a varied cast, from the young protagonists, Emilia and Teo, to their stunt pilots of mothers, Rhoda and Delia, but they all share in their courage and a longing for adventure.”

Due to the start of my junior year and a busy and stressful {yuck} extracurricular schedule, I was only able to fit in six books in September. Fortunately, each and every one was terrific – no reading slump here! Here’s hoping I find my groove so that I can read a few more novels in October, as the current status of my library pile is scary big.

September BooksAs always, reviews will be coming your way sometime soon!

Dark Chocolate SnickerdoodlesEats: My lack of time clearly didn’t extend to the kitchen; I was able to highlight not one, but two new recipes throughout the month! For the Lizzie Bennet Diaries fans and non-watchers alike, these dark chocolate snickerdoodles are sure to be a hit, while lovers of fall and a homemade breakfast will appreciate the recent post on Banana Apple Bread. Delish and delish, in my humble opinion.

Beautiful{It’s a week later, and I’m still in awe of the acting, singing, and technical design in this show. I just really like theater :)}

More: Features are fun, and September produced plenty! First up, I rounded up some of my favorite free downloads as of late in a new edition of Font Freebies. If you like fonts too, I’m sure you can agree: there’s so much type to love and share. Picture Perfect also made a reappearance with a new shopping guide, this time inspired by an old Kate Spade ad. The bright colors please the designer in me, while the books make this avid reader smile. To round off these design-centered posts, I recently created a new musical moodboard for the incredible production of Beautiful: The Carole King Musical.

I’m convinced life would be all the more difficult to manage without my Lilly planner in hand, so I offered my own organization tips and a peek inside it in September’s edition of Do Tell. I also asked blogger and shop owner Rachel Ball questions on everything and anything in my second Interviews with Rad People, and I completed my first Waiting on Wednesday post over at Lit Up Review {The book I can’t wait for? The all-too-creepy and all-too-cool Hotel Ruby}. Finally, the month couldn’t be complete without a Top Ten Tuesday post; for September, I participated in the seasonal to-be-read list, also known as my FAVORITE prompt of the year.

Her Campus Blogger NetworkIn blogging-related news, I’ve joined the Her Campus Blogger Network! We’ll see how it goes – if I’m not a fan, I know it will be easy to switch plans – but everyone in the community has been so friendly and welcoming thus far. I’ve also updated my about page after having the same template for a few years. If you want to read the updated version, click on over HERE.

Pop! Goes the Reader Fall WallpaperFavorites: It seems I wasn’t the only blogger who had a good month! Here are a few of the posts and articles I enjoyed and saved {all from people I respect and admire, I might add}.

  • I was giddy with excitement when I saw that Rookie, only my favorite online magazine created by the one and only Tavi Gevinson, redid their site. As I said on Twitter, it’s chock full of pretty, smart, and creative goodies for your liking. Go and take a look.
  • In preparation for Halloween, I’ve bookmarked Jen’s list of spooky reads, which has everything from a recent release {Moria Fowley Doyle’s The Accident Season} to a historical fiction backlist {Cat Winters’ In the Shadow of Blackbirds}. Her recommendations are bound to be spot-on, so I plan to reference the post on my next library trip!
  • If your phone, tablet, or laptop is in need of fall spirit, Jen from Pop! Goes the Reader has you covered; her recent batch of downloadable wallpapers screams fall! Jen has a superb eye for design, and it never fails make my morning when I see a new Writing on the Wall post pop up in my Bloglovin’ feed.
  • New blog crush? The Blonde Prep, run by high school senior Frannie. I love a smart, stylish, and positive blogger, and Frannie is all that and more! Narrowing down only one favorite post would be too difficult, so I’ll just send you to her site and hope for the best.

october-month-black-cat{via My Cute Graphics}

Looking Ahead: I have high hopes for October – there’s so much to look forward to! It’s a month of celebration {my sister, who I could easily call my best friend, has her birthday next Friday, while my dad has a birthday at the end of the month}, an easy school calendar {I have a four day weekend coming up and half days sprinkled throughout October}, and of course, all things spooky {can you say Halloween decorations and desserts?!}. Best of all? It’s also sweater weather, which means fall fashion has officially arrived in New England.

Have a terrific Thursday!

5 thoughts on “September 2015 Monthly Recap

  1. Oh no, you’re starting junior year?! Best of luck to you! Try not to stress out too much – what will happen will happen. Just remember that when you’re studying for tests! Thanks for giving me a shoutout in your wrap-up post, Bella! I’m honored :) I’m so in love with Jen’s wallpapers as well!

    Have a lovely month of October, dearest!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jen, thank you! I’m fortunate to have supportive parents and excellent teachers, so my classes haven’t been too stressful thus far – I know it won’t always be this calm, but one could hope! :) And thank you for the kind words. Wishing you a lovely October as well!

      Like

Say Hello!

