Banana Apple Bread

Hello!

Banana Apple BreadI’m a morning person. Friends of mine relish their chances to sleep in, but myself? I love to wake up early. Although I enjoy and am generally positive at any point in the day, I’ve found mornings are when I’m most productive and creative, due to in part, my typical wake-up routine: a brief yoga sequence, making my bed {do you agree that unmade beds are the worst?}, and eating breakfast. Having control of my schedule is a luxury, of course, but I couldn’t start my day without sitting down to eat and reading the news.

I suppose my strict breakfast eating habit is supported by my love of baking, as it’s rare that there isn’t a batch of muffins or a loaf of quick bread sitting in my family’s fridge. Cereal is my staple, but when the mid-week slump hits, a baked good is a sure way to brighten my day {it’s all in moderation, friends}. The following recipe takes advantage of apple season, combining the autumnal fruit with bananas and peanut butter. It seems like an unusual pairing, especially with the addition of chocolate chips, but it surprisingly works; the bread is delicious, inventive, and welcoming all at once. Bake a loaf for this week, and bake another to freeze for later use. You’ll be grateful to have it ready when you’ve eaten it all by Sunday.

I’ll keep your secret, though – we morning people have to stick together :)

Banana Apple BreadBanana Apple Bread Adapted from Averie Cooks

ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup Greek or plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas {from 2-3 bananas}
  • 1 cup grated apples, skin removed if desired {I used one large Gala apple!}
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

to make

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the egg, brown sugar, oil, sugar, yogurt, peanut butter, and vanilla.
  3. Mix in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, taking care not to overmix.
  4. Fold in the bananas, apples, and chocolate chips.
  5. Grease a 9-inch by 5-inch loaf pan. Pour and spread the batter into the pan, smoothing the top with a spatula.
  6. Bake for one hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. The top should be a golden brown.
  7. Let bread cool for ten minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy! {Bread can be wrapped and kept in freezer for up to six months.}

Have a lovely Tuesday!
Bella

Psst. Looking for your daily book review? I know, I can’t get enough of book blogging either. No worries, I have you covered – I shared another post at Lit Up Review last week!

4 thoughts on “Banana Apple Bread

Say Hello!

