My Fall 2015 TBR List

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayFall has so much to offer: pleasant weather, cozy autumnal fashion, pumpkin flavored desserts, and, as with every season, a stocked TBR list! My Goodreads shelves are packed with this season’s upcoming releases, and I have faith they will end the year’s slew of publications on a good note. As is tradition, I’m participating in The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday, to highlight some of my picks of this fall’s books, as well as a few backlist classics I’m hoping to try – I find that to be read lists need a little variety! Limiting myself to only ten novels, however, was too hard of a task, so you’ll notice there are five extra books added on. What can I say?! TBR lists need variety and length :) What books are you hoping to read this autumn?

Jellicoe RoadFirst on my list is Melina Marchetta’s Jellicoe Road, a novel that has gone unread too long for my liking. I have high hopes for this contemporary YA classic, but given the high praise from my fellow Lit Up Review writer Willa – she writes that “there is something about this book that makes me fall in love with it every time. That makes me love every sentence of it” – I don’t think I will finish it disappointed.

The MarvelsI, and seemingly every other middle grade fan on the planet, truly enjoyed Brian Selznick’s Hugo, a tour de force that weaves together the visual impact of illustration and the written effect of text. The captivating cover and intriguing synopsis of Selznick’s newest release, The Marvels, promises similar success – I’ll just need to find the room on my bookshelf for the 640 page novel!

Franny and ZooeyI aim to read at least one classic a season, although I have found that’s easier said than done between new releases, library books, and holiday gifts. Nevertheless, I’m determined to fit in a literary classic this fall, and my choice is one I’ve longed to read since I finished The Catcher in the Rye in the spring: J.D. Salinger’s Franny and Zooey. I’ll make it happen. {In other news, how cool is this cover project by artist Siobhán Gallagher?! I adore the mock edition shown above}.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower“Better late than never” is a saying best applied to my never having read the modern classic, Perks of Being a Wallflower. I saw and adored the film version starring Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, but rarely does the story on screen compare with the book itself. In other words? I’m expecting to fall in love with Stephen Chbosky’s cult favorite, just as I did with the film!

Why Not Me?Mindy Kaling is a comedic genius, or so I like to think after reading her first memoir, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, earlier in the year. Light, entertaining, and hilarious are qualities that apply to her first book, but I have little doubt they will translate to her second release, Why Not Me?, as well. Celebrity anecdotes make for perfect weekend reading.

The Hired GirlThe fall calls for a good historical fiction to read under a warm blanket and a cup of hot chocolate in hand! There are a handful of novels I’m anxious to read in the coming months, not in the least Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Hired Girl. Schlitz, who won the Newbery Medal for her play, Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!, is known for her accurate historical settings and dynamic characters, so I’m excited to grab her latest release. {review}

The Odds of Getting EvenJust as autumn itself screams historical fiction, October certainly requires a heavy dose of mystery! More often than not, I prefer a cute middle grade mystery over a chilling YA thriller {I’m not one for scary stories}, so I can’t wait for Sheila Turnage’s new book, The Odds of Getting Even. The latest installment of young detectives, Mo and Dale, I’m expecting haunting clues, small-town charm, and plenty of timeless fun to go around. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Everything, EverythingYA has seen a number of stories on interesting, unsettling and/or complex diseases grace its shelves this year, but not one book has had me so intrigued as I am by Nicola Yoon’s debut, Everything, Everything. The synopsis already has readers set up with the conflict: the protagonist is allergic to everything in the outside world. Fortunately, this book is out already, so I can snag a copy at my library this week!

Station ElevenI think it’s important to diversify not only the characters I read about, but the number of genres I try as well! I tend to stay away from adult fiction – I like my young adult and middle grade books quite a bit – but Hannah and Cassie’s posts have lad me to several great-sounding titles. My first “adult pick,” Station Eleven, has been well-received by adults and teens alike, so I’m going in with good thoughts.

Something Strange and DeadlyAdd Susan Dennard and her Something Strange and Deadly books to the long list of hyped novels I haven’t read yet, although I hope to soon change that status! With Dennard’s next series, The Witchlands, due out in January, I figure there’s no better time like the present to try her ever-so popular debut about a zombie uprising in the steampunk era. Halloween reading? You bet.

Seeing Off the JohnsI would have missed Seeing Off the Johns, a new YA release, if it weren’t for a highly positive review in a summer issue of Book Page; from what I can tell, the novel has gone completely under the radar! Despite the little press, I’m still hoping to find my own copy, as the diverse historical fiction story – set in a fictional Texan town in the late 90’s – sounds right up my alley.

Tonight the Streets are OursLeila Sales is another known name in YA that I have not yet read anything from, and for no good reason, other than a lack of time. Her contemporary novels seem like my types of books, with well-developed characters, humorous undertones, and unique topics included in each, so I can’t wait to try her recent release, Tonight the Streets Are Ours. Snaps for a gorgeous cover, and hopefully, a good story to go with it!

Wolf by WolfUnsettling and horrifying as the events of the war were, World War II has been the backdrop of many well-written novels – I would know, as historical fiction is one of my favorite genres to read! Ryan Graudin’s October release, Wolf by Wolf, is a new historical novel with a twist: it presents a different ending to the war, one where Hitler is still in power. Interested yet? Me too.

Don't Fail Me NowGiven my frequent support of the diverse books movement, you can understand my excitement over Una LaMarche’s new release, Don’t Fail Me Now. The summary invites readers in with an interesting premise: the two main characters, one black, one white, are linked by their biological father who left them as babies. I’ve been meaning to read LaMarche’s other diverse title, Like No Other, so I think I will use this fall to read them both.

Fans of the Impossible LifeFinally, I can’t wait to try one of autumn’s most talked about novels, the contemporary romance Fans of the Impossible Life. The YA shelves can always use more LGBTQ fiction, and, fortunately, Kate Scelsa’s debut looks like a worthy addition. I dig the cover, and I have little doubt that the story inside – one about “a girl, her gay best friend, and the boy in love with both of them” – is just as good.

Have a terrific Tuesday, and happy fall! :)
Bella

18 thoughts on “My Fall 2015 TBR List

  1. I have a copy of Everything Everything sitting on my shelf just wanting for my greedy hands to pick it up!! I am so eager to get a copy of Fans of the Impossible Life, I think it’s going to be great!!! Great list 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Josie, I’m delighted to hear it earns your high praise! I can’t wait to read it.

      There was so much cover love this week. I adore the colors in Fans of the Impossible Life! Thanks for commenting :)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Everything, Everything does seem to be a popular choice this week! It makes me laugh – and happy – that I’m adding to your TBR list; apologies if it’s gotten too long for your liking! :)

      Like

  2. Bella, you’ve got so many great titles in your fall tbr, ones I’ve read and enjoyed immensely, such as Jellicoe Road, The Perks of Being A Wallflower, Station Eleven (!!!), Fans of the Impossible Life, and Everything, Everything!! I’m looking forward to Wolf By Wolf – that one sounds epic. Lovely TBR, happy reading, Bella!

    xoxo,
    Jen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your glowing review of Station Eleven has me so excited to start it – I just need to grab a copy! And Wolf by Wolf sounds great, I agree, so I’m hoping it will live up to the hype. Thank you for stopping by! :)

      Like

  3. Almost every one of these books is on my TBR…why?!?! Jellicoe Road, Station Eleven, and Perks are three that I’ve been meaning to read forever…but I don’t think it’s going to happen for fall. Looking forward to your reviews, though!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • It seems to be a common book blogger struggle: SO MANY books, but so little time. All three of those novels come highly recommended to me, so I hope I find the chance to read them this fall. And, of course, I look forward to reading your own reviews as well! :)

      Like

  4. i loved both hugo + wonderstruck so i’m looking forward to the marvels as well. i’ve been waiting for a new book from brian selznick for months so there’s no chance this book is going unread this fall!

    it’s such a great goal to aim to read one classic per season. i think classics are so important although i rarely have the motivation to pick one up. franny + zooey is one i haven’t read yet but definitely want to! you’ll have to tell me how it is. love the cover of the edition you included by the way!

    why not me is on my tbr as well! love mindy kaling and everything she does. something strange and deadly is on my tbr too. i was actually planning on reading it during the summer but never got to it so i’m taking the chance to read it this season! i don’t know if it’s actually set in fall but somehow the cover seems really fitting for september / october.

    happy reading bella! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Annie, thank you for your comment! I always like to hear from you :) The Marvels sounds absolutely amazing; Brian Selznick is a terrific author AND illustrator, so I’m expecting nothing less! I hope you enjoy it as well.

      Believe me, I struggle with fitting in classics. It’s tough when you have so many new goodies on your shelves! I think one per season is manageable though, and I have such high hopes for Franny and Zooey given how much I enjoyed Catcher in the Rye.

      Finally, I love that we have so many TBR books in common! Mindy Kaling is all sorts of awesome – there was no doubt of her spot on my list – and Something Strange and Deadly seems to be a fan favorite. Thank you for stopping by, and happy reading to you too!

      Like

Say Hello!

