Harry Potter Thoughts / 01

Hi!

Let’s start Monday off with a little confession: before this past summer, I had never read any of the Harry Potter books. As a teen in this day and age, that’s surprising, but as a book blogger, it’s a situation almost unheard of {I know!}. Due to the efforts of my Harry Potter loving friends, though, I finally began the series in July, and I just recently read Book Two. In other words? I’m slowly but surely making my way through J.K. Rowling’s beloved books, and I’m loving every second of it.

Because the book community is saturated with Harry Potter reviews, I’ve decided to take a more causal approach in today’s post; below, I listed a few things that I enjoyed most in the first and second novels {complete with appropriate pictures, which I can now use with my newfound knowledge}. Do you consider yourself an avid HP fan? If so, what did you like best in Books One and Two? Finally, am I or am I the last person on Earth to read the Harry Potter books?!

Here’s are the summaries, as if you need them:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's StoneTitle: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
Author: J.K. Rowling
Published: June 26th, 1997 by Bloomsbury
Pages: 310
Genre: Middle Grade / Fantasy
Source: Home Library / Hardcover

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs {Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games}. Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts. {Goodreads}

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Title: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Author:
J.K. Rowling
Published: July 2nd, 1998 by Bloomsbury
Pages: 
352
Genre: 
Middle Grade / Fantasy
Source: 
Home Library / Hardcover

All Harry Potter wants is to get away from the Dursleys and go back to Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby – who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects: Harry Potter himself. {Goodreads}

Hermione What an Idiot{Hermione is this bookworm’s favorite}

The Friendships: Having already seen the Harry Potter films, I knew of the friendship between Harry, Ron, and Hermione, but I found their relationship ever stronger on the pages than that on the screen. It was heartwarming to read of their first time meeting each other, and I enjoy how their distinct personalities, from Hermione’s drive and smarts to Ron’s loyalty and laughs, play off of one another. Hagrid is another memorable character that left me impressed with Rowling’s gift for character development. Most of all, I look forward to seeing these friendships expand in the next few installments.

Professor McGonagall{that’s an excellent question}

The Teachers: Just as Harry’s friends left an impression, as did the teachers of Hogwarts! Again, I recognized many of the names, including my personal favorite, Professor McGonagall, from the movies, but it was fun all the same to actually read of them. Their sharp dialogue, their deep philosophies, and their fondness for the Hogwarts students shape them each as characters, and even the poor teachers added to the plot {I’m looking at you, Gilderoy Lockheart}. I’ve also had fun trying to figure out who is good and who is bad, leaving me even more excited to get to Book Three!

Harry Potter ClappingThe Setting: If there is one setting that is frequently mentioned across social media, it would be the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and I can now understand the appeal! Who wouldn’t want a letter inviting them to the famed boarding school? :) Rowling created the magical environment with impeccable attention to detail, and I found myself so immersed in the setting that I flew through the first book in one sitting. I feel this is the appropriate section to mention Quidditch as well; the creativity in the game alone has me liking the series.

Harry Potter Hogwarts is My Home{YES. Go Harry}

The Story: Finally, the plot may be a broad category, but I chose to discuss it as a whole because every element is connected {and I suspect this will hold through the final book}. I made my family laugh with how frequently I commented on the plot twists, and I believe Rowling found the perfect combination of suspense and substance. Furthermore, it’s evident Rowling knows her audience, as she writes in an engaging manner for middle grade readers. We’ll end with a happy statement: I’m so pleased to call myself an official Harry Potter fan!

Have a wonderful start to your week!
Bella

14 thoughts on “Harry Potter Thoughts / 01

    • Yay, another Harry Potter and Hermione fan! I’ve clearly joined a cool club :) And go for it; all I ask is that you give credit where it is due. Thank you for asking in advance!

      Like

  1. *has read all 7 books 10 times*
    I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE READING AND LOVING THIS SERIES!!!!

    I mean, technically speaking, I actually came into the series quite late…I was 13, and the last book was about to come out when I finally read them. I’d also seen the first four movies (the 5th movie was also about to come out).
    But I always get excited when more people discover just how awesome the books are! Especially when you see so many people who are all “But I’ve seen the movies, there’s no point in reading the books”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ten times?! I’m impressed. But thank you, I’m so glad I finally started them! And I know exactly what you mean – my reasoning was that I was always drowning in unread books/an ever-growing TBR list :)

      Like

  2. I think I have a problem with my Harry Potter obsession XD My teachers all know by know that id rather be at hogwarts. in fact one of my teachers told me that at least she’s nit as bad as Snape

    Like

  3. […] I’ve seen every movie, but it was only until July that I could actually say I’ve read the bestselling Harry Potter series, and I still have five more books to go! I would be committing some sort of literary sin if I excluded J.K. Rowling from this list, as I’ve now joined the millions of readers who have bonded with Harry, Ron, and Hermione over their time at Hogwarts. Here’s looking to as strong of a finale in 2016 when I read the rest of the remaining novels. {review} […]

    Like

  4. […] The opening number of the second act, “What’d I Miss” marks Thomas Jefferson’s return to the United States {for those who slept in US History, he was serving as the American minister to France beforehand}. A catchy number, it highlights many of Jefferson’s contradictions in policy, demonstrating not only the talent of the actor playing Jefferson, Daveed Diggs, but also that of the show’s creator, Lin-Manuel Miranda. History and creative references aside, the song is a perfect match to my reading of Harry Potter – having just started this past summer, I’m only a decade or so late. {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

