Summer Lovin’ with Holly from Nut Free Nerd

Hi!Summer Lovin

Another weekend brings another edition of Summer Lovin’, a two-month long feature here at Ciao Bella. Inspired by my own weekly Love Lists, I asked a few of my favorite teenage bloggers to post their summer-related picks, whether it be a good book, new film, or stylish accessory. I introduced this fun event a few weeks ago, and I will continue to share the guest posts throughout the summer!

Although my time off from school is decreasing by the day, my love for summer hasn’t diminished in the slightest! For today’s edition of Summer Lovin’, I’m pleased to introduce Holly, the blogger and book reviewer behind Nut Free Nerd. From her well-picked quotes and insightful reviews to her cheerful polka-dotted site design, Holly’s blog is one of the best by a teen reader – it’s no wonder I eagerly await new posts throughout the week. I’ve also learned – through her frequent and thoughtful comments here on Ciao Bella – that Holly is not only an excellent writer, but a kind person too, ALL reasons to stop by Nut Free Nerd before the weekend begins. Without further ado, here’s Holly!

v• • •

Jellicoe RoadFavorite Summer Read • For me, summers are when I finally have time to savor and fully enjoy the books I read. I’ve read some amazing books in the summertime, but the one that always reminds me of those wonderfully warm July nights is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. This novel is captivating, absolutely beautiful, and will linger in your mind long after you’ve read the last page. It’s simultaneously heart-wrenching and heart-warming, which I find is often a sign of a truly brilliant story. I love it more and more each time I read it, and I can’t wait to give it another reread this summer!

Jurassic WorldFavorite Summer Movie • There isn’t a film in particular that reminds me of summer, but my favorite movie by far of this summer is Jurassic World. Everything about it is flawless: the acting, the special effects, the dinosaurs, the story, and most importantly, Chris Pratt! Oh, how I love him! It’s crazy to see him in such a cool role after watching him for so long as Andy on the show Parks and Recreation. He was great and hilarious then, but I’m so happy that he’s seeing such success now. If you haven’t seen Jurassic World, definitely add it to your list of must-see movies!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream{via}

Favorite Ice Cream Flavor • Cookie dough! Although I do love a good cup of soft serve ice cream, especially a vanilla and chocolate twist! Yum!

White Lake State ParkFavorite Summer Activity • Every summer for the past eleven years, my family and I have gone camping at White Lake State park in New Hampshire, and I absolutely love it. Not only is it a blast to spend the time their with my family, but it’s also really relaxing. There’s no wi-fi or electricity and barely even a cell phone signal, so I’m completely separated from the online world. It’s so refreshing to get a break from technology and simply enjoy nature with the people you love!

KedsSummer Wishlist Item • Keds! I think they’re ADORABLE, and they’re really comfortable to wear, too. Just look at all those lovely colors!

Anna Sun ArtFavorite Summer Song • “Anna Sun” by Walk The Moon has been my summer song ever since I first heard it on the radio years ago. Walk The Moon has so many great songs that are perfect for summer, but this one is my favorite. It brings back so many summer feelings!

Summer ShoesFavorite Summer Shoes • I’ll be honest: the only reason I included this category is so I could talk about the loves of my life: my Birkenstocks! I ADORE these shoes, to put it simply. They are comfortable, my feet never get hot, they have great arch support, and I love the chill vibe they add to any outfit!

• • •

Thank you again to Holly! I have heard nothing but good things about Jellicoe Road, so I will certainly have to look into it sooner rather than later. I wholeheartedly agree on the cookie dough choice, as that is one of my favorite ice cream flavors as well. Finally, aren’t Keds the cutest?! The Taylor Swift collaboration has produced the best patterns.

You can find Holly on her blog, Twitter, Goodreads, or Pinterest.

Have a lovely start to your weekend!

9 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ with Holly from Nut Free Nerd

Say Hello!

