The Summer List // 2015

Hi!

The Summer List 2015{via}

Summer lists have become a little tradition here on Ciao Bella; this will be my fourth time creating one! As fellow planners can likely relate and regular readers surely know, I love making lists, whether it is merely bulleted tasks I need to do or a long-running collection of books I want to read. These posts {catch previous editions HERE, HERE, and HERE} are a seasonal twist on the bucket list, and I look forward to writing them all spring long. I like to keep mine relaxed and informal, bringing a sense of structure to my vacation without putting too much pressure on myself to complete every item. At the very least, annually making my list switches my mindset from school to summer!

Bake a Cake Making a cake from scratch seems to me like a skill every home baker should have in their repertoire. It’s a daunting task, but I have trusted cookbooks to guide me along the way, and, worse comes to worst, there’s nothing that a bit of frosting can’t cover.

Reach 100 Novels My reading rate has rapidly increased over the past few months, a pace I hope carries me into the summer! I would like to reach a total of one hundred novels read from January to September, a goal that seems entirely manageable with the number of library books I have checked out.

See a Show Theater fan I am, I always like to see a musical or two in the summer time! Fortunately, there are several community productions I have my eye on, so this should be an easy item to check off my list.

Practice Hand Lettering I love hand-lettering, but I rarely have the time to work on my typography skills during the school year. I would love to practice it on a more consistent basis with a new project.  I’ll be taking a lettering-design class in August, which should serve as the perfect motivation to start one.

Celebrate My Birthday with Family and Friends I am a summer baby – my birthday is coming up on July 24! I’m looking forward to celebrating my special day with my family and friends {and, of course, opening a few presents too!}.

Catch-Up on Blog Upkeep What better time than the summer to organize and clean up the blog?! I have had updating my pages, sidebar, and social media accounts on my to-do list for months, but school work and writing posts has always come first. I will be using my summer break to catch-up on those tasks and prepping posts for the fall.

See the Minions Movie My animated pick of the season? The Minions film! I adored the first few Despicable Me movies, and I can’t wait to watch the backstory of the little yellow creatures in July. It looks both cute and entertaining.

Stay Healthy Between finals studying and end of the school year activities, I haven’t made time to do my favorite yoga poses each day. I would like to carve out time daily for yoga, as much for my health as for my flexibility! On a similar note, I’m always looking for healthy recipes to whip up in the hot summer months.

Take a Day Trip One of my favorite parts of summer break is the day trips. I like week-long vacations as much as the next person, but there’s something so nice about visiting a new and nearby place for an afternoon. They offer plenty of photo opportunities too!

Host a Bonfire Finally, a big backyard and long summer nights are the best combination for a bonfire! I’ll be prepped with the badminton net, the comfy chairs, and the s’mores materials for a bonfire with friends :)

What would you put on your summer list? If you made a similar post, be sure to link up – I would love to read it!

Have a wonderful Monday!

12 thoughts on “The Summer List // 2015

  1. I’ve been getting more into yoga as well. I try to do some every morning, and so far I really enjoy it! Best of luck with all of your goals, especially the 100 books one- that would be so cool! Do you know what you would want your 100th book to be?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yoga is such an amazing practice to get into – I may have to take your suggestion, and wake up with a few poses! I have no idea what I want my 100th book to be, but I have long had Harry Potter on my TBR list, so perhaps I will aim for that as my big 100th read :)

      Like

  2. Creating a summer list is a great idea, Bella. I didn’t really make a summer list for myself, but more of a to-do list for certain projects that I really want to focus on during the summer. I really love some of the items on here. Baking a cake seems like it would be really fun, if a bit difficult. I generally want to get more into cooking/baking this summer since I haven’t done much of either on my own, but I still really love food. 100 books is a pretty ambitious goal, but I’m sure you can do it. 100 books is my overall goal for the year and I am pitifully behind on my goal, so I hope to catch up this summer. Ooh, day trips are really fun. My friends and I made a bucket list of things we want to do together, and the list includes various types of day trips to places like a laser tag arena, an indie bookstore, a water park and an amusement park, so hopefully we’ll get to some of those this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I love the sound of your day trip list! I hope you get to a few of them as well during the summer :) And thank you – one hundred books is a bit ambitious, but I think I can do it!

      Like

  3. Ohhh, I totally love this. I had some plans about what I wanted to do this summer as well, but never really made it into a list! Love that you did. <3

    I think taking a day trip or doing a staycation would be so fun! There's alot of places nearby that I have yet to explore, so I totally need to get on that this summer. Hosting a bonfire would be SO COOL. I'm not sure if I could do one at home, but attending one would be just as awesome. Baking a cake from scratch isn't too bad at all!! You just need a good recipe. :) Now that I think about it, I want to try baking more this summer as well…

    OMG. LETTERING. You do it too?! I've just recently gotten into it and it's honestly a little scary but really exciting too, since I'm not the artsy type. What class are you taking? How long have you been doing it?

    Lovely, lovely post Bella! <33 I hope your summer is fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for commenting! :) I live nearby the Rhode Island School of Design, and they offer several courses for young adults, one of them being in hand-lettering. I don’t start until the last week of July, but I am super excited. It’s a bit intimidating at first, but it is such a nice and fun skill to have!

      Like

Say Hello!

