loving >> week 158

Hi!

The Love ListHere’s what I’m loving…

Tony Awards 20151 ♥ The Tony Awards Theater fan I am, and I still forgot to mention the Tony Awards in last week’s Love List! The Tony Awards broadcast is a clear sign summer is on its way – the awards are usually presented in early June – and it is one awards ceremony I don’t tire of only an hour into watching. For those who are non-theater fans, the Tony Awards were created to honor the casts and crews of shows in the most recent Broadway season. The always hilarious Kristin Chenoweth and Alan Cumming hosted this year’s ceremony, and productions Fun Home and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time were among this year’s winners {The show I want to see most? An American in Paris sounds absolutely amazing}. Did you watch the Tony’s this year?

May Reads May Reads Briefly mentioning and reviewing a book in a Love List may become a monthly occurrence, given there are so many novels I want to review with such little time! :) Wendy Mass’s Graceful and Jen Calonita’s Flunked are two recent middle grade releases that I devoured in a single weekend last month. Graceful is the last installment in Mass’s popular series of Willow Falls books; the ending was bittersweet, but the final chapter made this longtime fan happy. I really enjoyed Calonita’s Belles books, so I was excited to try her middle grade work; I’m glad to say she didn’t disappoint with an adorable tale set at Fairy Tale Reform School. I would happily recommend both if you’re in need of a cute, light novel for your summer reading pile!

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl3 ♥ Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is not only an entertaining and well-written novel, but also a hit indie film coming out in theaters today! I only just recently discovered the movie version of Jesse Andrews’ first and only novel, but the endless stream of positive praise has me excited to see it. With a cast of talented actors {Olivia Cooke, Thomas Mann, and RJ Cyler are starring as the trio of teens} and an equally well-done script, “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a coming-of-age movie with uncommon charm and insight,” to quote the Rotten Tomatoes critics. Before I head to the theaters, however, I think I will give the novel a re-read. Do you plan to see the movie?

Her Story Header4 ♥ Her Story: Ladies in Literature I love reading Jen’s blog, Pop! Goes the Reader; her posts are written with such thought, her graphics are always bright and well designed, and she has such a good taste in books! :) Furthermore, Jen can run a good post series, as evident by the month-long feature on her site, Her Story: Ladies in Literature. Throughout the month of June, Jen has invited multiple authors to share the female literary heroines that have shaped their life, whether that character is Elizabeth Bennet or Hermione Granger. I like nothing better than supporting book bloggers and authors, and I’m sure you feel the same; read through this fabulous series HERE!

Scooby-Doo-Mystery-Incorporated5 ♥ Scooby-Doo Mystery Incorporated Finally, can you ever go wrong with a good Netflix binge?! My sister and I are using the two seasons of Scooby-Doo Mystery Incorporated available on Netflix to count down the days left of school. We have been having fun re-watching a childhood favorite, and with that, I wish you the loveliest of weekends!

One thought on “loving >> week 158

Say Hello!

