Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2015

Hi!Top Ten TuesdayWhen December rolls around, my book excitement is focused not on holiday presents, but the releases of the coming year. I know which of my favorite authors have new novels coming out, which debut novels to add to my to-be-read list, and which books to grab given the positive hype circling social media; simply put, I know my publication lists inside and out :) Nevertheless, there are a number of releases that I learn about throughout the year, often too late to make a Top Ten post, but too early to write about in a seasonal TBR list.

Fortunately, the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish {pay them a visit and join in on the fun HERE!} thought of a helpful prompt for those like me: Top Ten Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2015. The following ten novels hit shelves in the next few months, and they’ll be at the top of my reading piles as soon as they do. What books are you excited to read as we hit the halfway mark of 2015?!

WinterNow that I am caught up on all of the books in Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles {Fairest not included}, I can fully share in the excitement over the next and last installment, Winter! At just over 800 pages, this Snow White retelling will surely be an outstanding read, but more importantly, I will have a stunning thing of a cover to top my reading pile in the midst of junior year. {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3}

The Pirate's CodeI sneaked in Heidi Schulz’s middle grade debut, Hook’s Revenge at the end of 2014 without realizing that a sequel was soon on its way! With an illustrated cover just as adorable as the first, The Pirate Code brings back Jocelyn Hook and friends as she and her crew search for the infamous treasure of Captain Hook. With Schulz’s trademark charm and wit, I have little doubt of its success come September. {review}

Go Set a WatchmanWhen listing my favorite classics, To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the first to come to mind. I can never get enough of Lee’s timeless and impactful tale, and the story’s young narrator, Scout, remains one of my most beloved characters. The second novel written by Lee, Go Set a Watchman, is set to release in July; despite conflicting reports in Lee’s role in its publication, I am looking forward to reading it on my summer break {it would make a lovely b-day gift, don’t you think?!}.

These Shallow GravesIt’s been a few years since I last read one of Jennifer Donnelly’s YA novels, but even that long of a break couldn’t discount my delight in discovering her newest book, These Shallow Graves, on Goodreads! I couldn’t be happier that Jennifer is returning to her historical fiction work, and I have high hopes for this thriller set in New York during the Gilded Age. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Stand-OffAndrew Smith underwent some unfair controversy earlier this year, but I still admire him as an author; I frequently recommend Winger for anyone looking for a realistic blend of humor and heart in their reading. The sequel, Stand-Off, will be published in the fall, and though little is known {the synopsis only lends us this helpful tidbit: “Stand-Off will focus on Ryan Dean’s senior year, in which he becomes captain of the rugby team”}, I expect it will be a terrific read.

Big GameI have read, loved, and featured so many of Stuart Gibb’s novels, that I have to ask myself, “When don’t I write about one of his books on a Top Ten list?!” I just finished Evil Spy School last month, so I’m now looking forward to his other 2015 release, Big Game. The next installment in the Fun Jungle series, it is sure to continue the string of wacky, well-written mysteries Gibbs is known for. {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5}

A Step Toward FallingI was pleasantly surprised by Cammie McGovern’s young adult novel, Say What You Will, when I read it last summer; I hadn’t expected to enjoy it so much, much less call it a favorite! Her next book does not feature the same characters, but it does focus on the same subject, as two teens volunteer at a center for people with disabilities. Reviews have been amazing thus far, but I wouldn’t expect anything less from this talented author. {review}

What We Left BehindRobin Talley’s novel, Lies We Tell Ourselveswas another surprise stand-out for me last year, bringing a LGBTQ storyline to the height of the Civil Rights Movement. Her next book, coming out in October, sounds just as good, following a couple in their first year of college and the struggles they face with gender identity and a long-distance relationship. Sign me up! {review}

Beastly BonesWilliam Ritter’s debut, Jackaby, was declared a must-read for Sherlock fans, so it was no surprise I enjoyed it so much when I read it in the fall. What I was shocked at? The release of a sequel so soon! Beastly Bones continues Ritter’s entertaining blend of mystery, science fiction, and historical fiction as Abigail Rook and R.F. Jackaby take on another case. I think it will be the perfect read for Halloween. {review}

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in BetweenFinally, I can trust Jennifer E. Smith to deliver a strong YA romance, so her next book, Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between should be a cute read as I head back to school in September! The synopsis already has me smiling, and it should be no different of a case when I grab a copy of the novel. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

Bella

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2015

  1. I had no idea that Jennifer E. Smith was releasing another book! I really liked This Is What Happy Looks Like and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, so I’m really looking forward to this new one. Great list! :)

    Like

  2. For some bizarre reason, I only found out about Jennifer E. Smith’s next book about a month ago, but I basically screamed when I saw she had another coming out because she is a contemporary queen. Love the graphics, girl :)

    Like

  3. Like you, I am incredibly excited for Go Set a Watchman. I’m nervous about how I’ll enjoy it in relation to To Kill a Mockingbird, which is my favorite book, but I still have confidence that Harper Lee’s depth of storytelling will not disappoint me. I am also excited for Winter and its sheer length. I love thick books so much, and I’m sure it will be a wonderful finale to the series. These Shallow Grave seems like a book that I would be interested in since it is historical fiction and I’ve heard good things about Jennifer Donnelly, so maybe I’ll check it out.

    Like

    • I’m sure you’ll love Jennifer Donnelly’s novels! I recommend starting with Revolution :) And, yes, I am confident that Harper Lee won’t disappoint.

      Like

Say Hello!

