Musical Moodboards / Shrek

Hello!Musical MoodboardsWhen I first heard that my school’s spring musical would be Shrek, I was less than thrilled. The show’s humor didn’t excite me, the makeup and costume design worried me, and the casting and set design both had me baffled. I wasn’t alone in my hesitant reactions; cast and crew members alike wondered if we could pull this show off! Despite our initial fears, Shrek was a joy to work on and watch, and I’m delighted I was able to stage manage such a strong production. I have finally recovered from my tiring tech rehearsals and weekend of performances, giving me the time to put together a musical moodboard for the show. This feature is a favorite of mine, and my archive of past moodboards is growing by the month – you can see them all HERE if you’d like!

Shrek Musical MoodboardSources: Fiona Illustration / Dragon Picture / Woods and Cabin Print / Fairy Tale Characters Drawing / Freak Flag Print / {FYI: I tried my best to provide you with the most accurate and updated sources, but please let me know of any problems or mistakes!}

Since the musical’s debut on Broadway in 2008, Shrek the Musical has been praised for its book, leads, and costume design, and it continues to tour today throughout the UK. I was surprised at how fun of a show it is, a point emphasized when the company encourages the audience to sing along in the final number, “I’m a Believer.”

Shrek, as both a film and a musical, dismisses the “traditional” fairy tale in favor of a fractured love story. I took a similar approach to this collection, looking for a combination of modern and classic images. Playful, cartoon-like illustrations of Fiona and the dragon reference two of the show’s main characters, while the forest pattern is a creative homage to Shrek’s home in the swamp. The leads carry the show, but this musical also requires a large ensemble, explaining the line drawing of fairy tale characters. Finally, one of the biggest numbers of the production is “Freak Flag,” in which Pinocchio, Gingie, and the like sing of their weird traits, so a lyric print was the finishing touch.

Let’s discuss! Have you seen Shrek the Musical? Are you a fan of the movies or holiday shorts? I haven’t watched the films in a few years, but after that intense of a tech week, I’m not sure if I’m ready to revisit them quite yet :)

Have an amazing Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Musical Moodboards / Shrek

Say Hello!

