Top Ten Books in My Beach Bag

Hello!

Top Ten TuesdayWith June just around the corner, summer – summer vacation, to be specific – is on my mind, so this week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt couldn’t be better timed. As in years past, I’ve rounded up ten books that are perfect for summer reading or, as the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish put it, the novels I plan to have in my beach bag this summer. I’m not a frequent beach-goer, but I do love a good “beach read,” a novel that is light, romantic, and relatively short. These ten books seem to match the qualifications, and I can’t wait to grab copies of them all throughout June, July, and August. For added fun {I’m not one to turn down online shopping}, I’ve matched the cover of each novel with a beach bag – you’ll need a chic tote to carry your books around during the summer! :)

A few notes, before we begin. I try not to repeat books in these TBR round-ups, so several novels {Jenny Han’s P.S. I Still Love You, anyone?} are not on this particular list. And, as always, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely ladies at The Broke and the Bookish. Stop by, take a peek, and link up yourself HERE!

Saint AnythingSarah Dessen, as any regular YA reader can tell you, is a queen of the market, writing bestseller after bestseller. Her previous books have offered fresh characters, summer settings, and swoon-worthy relationships, and I expect nothing less with her latest novel, Saint Anything. Die-hard Dessen fans seem pleased, as I hope I will be as well! {bag}

Happy AgainThe number of contemporary novels I’ve read is forever growing, but I still keep my all-time favorites close to my heart. I’ve praised Jennifer E. Smith’s book This is What Happy Looks Like countless times, and I couldn’t be more excited to “catch up “ with Ellie and Graham in the short story, Happy Again. I will need to pack my Kindle when I head on vacation! {bag}

The Fill-in BoyfriendI devoured Pivot Point and Split Second in mere days, and I now happily declare myself a Kasie West fan. Although I know her only by her fantasy/science-fiction work, West has written plenty of cute contemporaries for me to finally read this summer. First on my list? Her newest release, The Fill-In Boyfriend, where a girl asks someone to fill in as her prom date. I suspect hilarity ensues. {bag}

Amy and Roger's Epic DetourI have been slacking on my Re-Read Challenge progress; I have only one of twelve books down! My hope is to return to a few novels this summer, such as Morgan Matson’s Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour. I have recommended this book time after time, but it has been years since I have revisited Matson’s debut myself. That’s a problem I am determined to fix. {bag}

My Life Next DoorIf there’s one novel I’m sad to have not read yet, it’s My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Frequently appearing on Top Ten posts, this contemporary romance has been on my TBR list since its 2012 release. If all goes well {as I’m sure it will}, I will be checking out the sequel, The Boy Most Likely To, in August. {bag}

Three Day SummerMusic festivals scream summer to me, as does the bright and colorful cover of Three Day Summer! Set at Woodstock in the summer of 1969, Sarvenaz Tash’s book is a winning combination of romance and music. Although the novel has flown under the radar since its release last week, I have my fingers crossed I can snag a copy at my local library. {bag}

Sophomore Year is Greek to MeWhen I picked up Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin, I was excited for a light-hearted read set in Greece – little did I know that it was a companion novel to her book, Freshman Year & Other Natural Disasters! Fortunately, reviewers have promised that these two books can stand alone; I think, however, it gives me perfect reason to try out both novels. {bag}

The Summer of Chasing MermaidsSarah Ockler is a well-known name in the young adult industry, but I haven’t yet found the chance to read one of her novels! Here’s hoping her latest release, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, is the first of many of my Ockler reads. It’s already winning in my book for the diverse characters and creative retelling of The Little Mermaid. {bag}

Hello, I Love YouTraveling is an essential part of summer, but when day trips and small vacations don’t suffice, books are a wonderful second resource. Katie M. Stout’s debut, Hello, I Love You, is set in Korea and follows a romance between American boarding school student Grace and KPOP superstar, Jason. Early reviews have not put it in the best light, but I like to read with an open mind! :) {bag}

Proof of ForeverFinally, a story with time travel, summers at camp, and former best friends? I’m most definitely in. Told from four different perspectives, Proof of Forever looks like and adorable and quick read by a YA-newbie, Lexa Hillyer. Beach reading at its best, I think. {bag}

Have a wonderful Tuesday!
Bella

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Books in My Beach Bag

  1. These are some great picks, and I love the bags to go with them! The book that looks the most intriguing to me is Proof of Forever- time travel in a summery YA read? Sign me up!

    Like

  2. Your beach bag pairings are fabulous, Bella! I do love going to the beach in the summer, but I rarely read books there because I’d rather spend my beach days in the water or finding sand dollars or building sand castles. Still, I think you picked some great books. Contemporary novels fit the summer well!

    Like

  3. All these books sound absolutely wonderful as summer reads and I LOVE the little touch of matching the book to a bag! So cute and totally sets the summer mood. Loved it.

    Like

  4. This is such a fun post Bella! And I love that you matched bags with the books too! The Fill In Boyfriend is on my list and so is Amy & Roger! I actually bought it today so I could have it on hand for the summer to reread :)

    Like

  5. You have a great sense for visuals, you know? The bags are pretty much perfect with the books ;) I don’t read a lot of romance, but I want to try Poof of Forever, and definitely P. S. I Still Love You!

    Like

  6. […] More: Musicals, fashion, and art all made an appearance on Ciao Bella in their respective features. This month’s Musical Moodboard was dedicated to my school’s production of Shrek, a humorous and rather green show. I posted the shorts I’m eyeing for the summer in May’s Style Snapshot, and finally, I honored talented illustrators and artists in a bright edition of Eye on Art. Other posts included another round of Font Freebies and a summery Top Ten Tuesday list of beach reads. […]

    Like

Say Hello!

