Do Tell / Beating Blogger Burnout

Hi!Do TellAs most bloggers will tell you, a case of “blogger burnout” is unavoidable. There comes a time for every online writer when blogging becomes a chore and returning to the keyboard only brings sighs. While I was brainstorming discussion topics for another Do Tell post {Time flies. My last discussion post was in January!}, blogger burnout seemed most appropriate given my recent Ciao Bella hiatus. What do you do when the blogging blues hit?

After three and half years of blogging here on Ciao Bella {didn’t I tell you that time flies?!}, I’ve had my fair share of blogger burnout. A variety of reasons were the cause for these cases: I’m overwhelmed with school, I’m pressed for time due to extracurriculars, or I have lost the motivation to write, but I have found that it’s nothing time off from blogging can’t fix. Mini “blogcations” are my favorite remedy for blogger burnout. After a week or two off, my inspiration for future posts skyrocket and I often can’t wait to return to writing and commenting on a regular basis. Many experienced bloggers have argued that a hiatus is necessary to continue posting original and high-quality content, a point I wholeheartedly agree with.

It helps that I keep several mantras in mind in my day-to-day posting; reminding myself of these daily help me to realize that a break from blogging is not a big deal.

Quality over quantity.
A perfectionist streak and an overwhelming course load don’t make blogging any easier or faster. I hold my Ciao Bella posts to high standards, so the idea of “quality over quantity” is important for me to remember when planning my editorial calendar. I would much rather miss a day or two of posting than put out content I’m only semi-proud of!

Blogging is a hobby, not a job.
Blogging is such a fun, creative hobby, and I am so happy to have gotten into it! However, there are times when the aspects of managing Ciao Bella, such as replying to emails, drafting posts, and creating a community, feels more like a job, something this busy high school student can’t always manage. Whenever that feeling hits, I like to take a step back and remind myself of the things I LOVE about blogging before returning to the WordPress dashboard. Usually, I just need a new perspective.

Your blog is for you first, followers second.
Finally, it’s so easy to get caught up in the numbers game of blogging, from site views to follower counts. People-pleasers may also agree that blogging can quickly become less about the blogger’s wishes and more about the readers’ wants. While I adore anyone and everyone who stops by Ciao Bella, my posts are reflections of things I love; posting anything else would cause me feelings of dislike. The followers will come!

Let’s discuss! Have you experienced blogger burnout? If so, how did you deal with it? Do we share any of the same ideas when it comes to blogging? There’s so much one could talk about, but if you have further interest in the blogging slog, I think this New York Times article is worth a peek.

Have a terrific Wednesday!
Bella

12 thoughts on “Do Tell / Beating Blogger Burnout

  1. I completely agree! I like to schedule a lot of posts in advance to avoid having to rush around writing them at the last minute, but once my supply of scheduled posts starts to dwindle the stress begins to set in. Usually I end up skipping days here and there and not posting anything, but I’ve been thinking more and more lately about taking a little break. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who feels this way!

    Like

    • Writing this post and reading other’s comments has been such a stress-reliver; it helps to know that most bloggers run into scheduling or writing issues too! And I fully support taking a little break, especially as the school year winds down :)

      Like

  2. I actually remind myself daily that there are regular readers of my blog and they have become such great acquaintances that I couldn’t bear not to blog each day. When I see these people put up interesting posts on a daily basis on their blogs, it motivates me to do better and to continue blogging. While I accept that there will be a day that I’ll get a burnout, it doesn’t deter me. I feel that there’s enough excitement and stories in my life to tell at this point to make me continue so when the time comes, I’ll try to heed your advice here :)

    Like

  3. I totally agree on all of your points! In fact, I touched on nearly all of them on a recent blog post of my own. I especially like the last two things you mentioned – I have to remind myself sometimes that I blog for myself, not others, and to remember that it’s supposed to be fun. I love blogging, and I for one don’t want it to be pressured or forced. :)

    Like

  4. I am fresh to blogging, having only started this year. So far I haven’t experienced burnout and I really hope I don’t experience it! But I do find that I struggle so hard with keeping up regular posts due to school! I love blogging, it’s incredibly fun and satisfying and the community is awesome. If I was to get into a burnout, I don’t know what I would do to get out of it!

    Like

    • School is the biggest obstacle for me as well! It’s hard to find the time to blog on top of homework, other assignments, and extracurriculars. I love stopping by your blog, so keep it up! :) Burnout may or may not come, but I’m sure you’ll be able to figure out what to do if it does.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I know blogger burnout all too well, and in fact, I just got off of a month of complete blogger burnout. The break helped to reinspire me and fill my creative well again, so breaks are always my go-to method of fighting blogger burnout. The only thing you have to watch out for is making sure that the break doesn’t turn into not blogging for a REALLY long time.

    Like

    • Great point, Ana! I think breaks, as you said, boost your creativity as a blogger, but they can easily turn into a permanent hiatus. You have to find the right balance.

      Like

  6. These are great things to keep in mind and I agree with you! Sometimes I get thoughts on how I can gain more followers/view but then I remember that it all comes in time and posts.

    Yes, blogging is a hobby! Just a hobby… sometimes I do tend to prioritize blogging over school and it does get very bad. Days are spent staying up super late and homework is not getting done…

    One thing I like to keep in mind is why I started blogging as well. To spread my love and thoughts for books, make friends in blogging community, and improve on my writing skills. It was never for ARCs or free books or anything like that. This kind of helps remember that I can’t let ARCs and the fact that I can indeed get free books get to my blogging.

    Great post and thanks for sharing!

    ~Kaitlin

    Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

