Musical Moodboards / Aladdin

Hello friends!Musical MoodboardsOne look through this feature’s archives, and you’ll notice Disney has a thing for musical theater. Whether it’s reinventing Mary Poppins’ nanny practices for the stage or, as in this month’s choice, giving a beloved hero a new home on Broadway, I can’t get enough of their productions {I’m absolutely delighted that Newsies – another show I want to add to my list – is heading towards me next year}. I was lucky enough to attend Aladdin last April just as it opened, so as I prepare to head back to NYC in a few weeks on a similar trip, I wanted to give one of Disney’s biggest theatrical hits the spotlight. Before we begin, those new to Musical Moodboards can read and catch up on previous moodboards HERE!

Aladdin Musical MoodboardSources: Aladdin on Broadway Illustration / A Whole New World Print / Aladdin Production Photo / Pattern Inspiration / Lantern Photograph / {FYI: I tried my best to provide you with the most accurate and updated sources, but please let me know of any problems or mistakes!}

If there’s one thing that makes this girl happy, it’s gorgeous technical design, and Aladdin had me grinning from ear to ear! The stunning beadwork of the costumes, the backdrop and magic carpet rigging of “A Whole New World,” and the colorful set of the marketplace opening are just snippets of a show that requires just as talented a crew as it does a cast. When researching art for this moodboard, I looked for pictures and illustrations that capture the hard work of the entire Aladdin team – you’ll notice I snuck in an actual photo from the production, artwork that clearly depicts the cast, and patterns used by the show’s costume designer. Two of my favorite scenes, the iconic ride between Jasmine and Aladdin and the high-energy bazaar number, also made it into this collection of images before I wrapped it up.

Let’s discuss! Have you seen or do you hope to see Aladdin on Broadway? Are you a fan of the Disney film? I’ll be returning to New York next month with my school’s drama department to attend Finding Neverland, another show I have heard wonderful things about, so there’s plenty of good theater to go around! :)

Have a fabulous Thursday! We’ve almost made it to the weekend.

3 thoughts on “Musical Moodboards / Aladdin

  1. So cool! My local community college’s theater program goes to NYC every year to see shows. I can’t wait until I’m a theater major so that I can go see some of them! Aladdin looks beautiful!

    Like

Say Hello!

