Making the Grade / Cress

Hi!

Making the Grade“Too many books, so little time” is a problem avid readers encounter all too often. Even with my best efforts and fast reading pace, I still find myself overwhelmed by the number of novels unread on my shelves. Cress, one of my most anticipated reads last year, fell victim to this bookworm predicament, sitting in my reading pile for months on end. When Fairest was released earlier in January, however, I knew it was time to catch up on the Lunar Chronicles; I’m happy to say that the winter afternoon I used to fly through the novel was time well spent. I discuss everything Cress in my full review below!

Summary: In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has. {Goodreads}

Cress Making the GradeAround the Web: “The Lunar Chronicles is one of the most interesting series I’ve ever read. New information, twists, and characters are added with every book, and I feel like it just intensifies everything” {read the rest of the review at Nose Graze HERE}.

“Deftly twining series plot threads with those introduced in Cress, Marissa Meyer has managed to create another thrilling blend of science fantasy, romance, and fairy tale adventure” {read the rest of the review at Christina Reads YA HERE}.

“Meyer knows so well how to write a good series. Focusing on a different character for each book is such a brilliant way to tell a larger story. I feel like we get all the benefits of a series without sacrificing the good things about a standalone” {read the rest of the review at Stacked HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Are you a fan of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles? If so, which is your favorite read of the series? {I’m most partial to Scarlet, but Winter is looking promising!}. Although I felt like I was the last one on Earth to read Cress, is there anyone else that still needs to catch up? And finally, can we talk about having way too many good books to read, but not enough time?!

Have a lovely day!

5 thoughts on “Making the Grade / Cress

  1. This looks like a great book series! You have really piqued my interests!! I never have enough time to read, hopefully I’ll have more time during the summer:)

    Like

  2. […] Cress by Marissa Meyer | “At 550 pages, Cress doesn’t appear like a quick read, but Meyer’s well-paced and captivating plot may have you thinking otherwise. I was turning pages all night to see what was in store for Cress and Throne; Cinder and friends; and Scarlett.” […]

    Like

  3. […] Now that I am caught up on all of the books in Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles {Fairest not included}, I can fully share in the excitement over the next and last installment, Winter! At just over 800 pages, this Snow White retelling will surely be an outstanding read, but more importantly, I will have a stunning thing of a cover to top my reading pile in the midst of junior year. {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

