Pros & Cons / The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh

Hello!

Pros and ConsAfter a long and stressful week of finals {It’s so crazy to think that I start my last trimester of the school year today}, blogging is a welcome activity to return to. I’d much rather write about my latest reads, like Kat Yeh’s adorable debut, The Truth About Twinkie Pie, than study chemistry equations or graphs of rational functions! This realistic fiction story made an appearance on my winter TBR list because, like any home baker and bookworm, I’m sure, baking-centered novels make me oh-so excited. Couple a story like that with a gorgeous cover, and I’m sold. My full thoughts on this cute read are below!

Here’s your book summary, as always: Take two sisters making it on their own: brainy twelve-year-old GiGi {short for Galileo Galilei, a name she never says out loud} and junior-high-dropout-turned-hairstylist DiDi {short for Delta Dawn}. Add a million dollars in prize money from a national cooking contest and a move from the trailer parks of South Carolina to the Gold Coast of New York. Mix in a fancy new school, new friends and enemies, a first crush, and a generous sprinkling of family secrets. That’s the recipe for The Truth About Twinkie Pie, a voice-driven middle grade debut about the true meaning of family and friendship. {Goodreads}

The Truth About Twinkie Pie Pros and ConsAround the Web: “This book has a lot to do with baking, family, friendships, telling the truth, and finding out who you are. I thought it covered all these topics quite masterfully” {read the rest of the review at Belletristic Books HERE}.

“Kat Yeh has written a treat of a middle grade story that will tug on your heart-strings and make you smile in equal measure. The multifaceted characters and rich turns of phrase that had me reading with a twang are only a couple of the reasons I read this book in one big gulp” {read the rest of the review at Welcome to My {New} Tweendom HERE}.

“Even the most background and seemingly static characters add to the story. Kat Yeh has done a wonderful job of creating a fantastical world layered like the pie on the cover” {read the rest of the review at Kidsreads HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Have you heard about The Truth About Twinkie Pie? Maybe you’ve read it yourself? Are you just as much in love with the typography on the cover as I am?

Have a wonderful start to your week!
Bella

2 thoughts on “Pros & Cons / The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh

  1. I would be worried about the plot being muddled, but it looks like you liked everything else which is great because I’m planning on reading this soon (:
    Great format to your review!

    Like

Say Hello!

