My Spring 2015 TBR List

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayThe weather may wish it otherwise, but I like to think that a new to be read post means the start of a new season, and with several good books and warmer temperatures on the horizon, I’m anxious to welcome in spring! Narrowing down my long list of anticipated releases for these seasonal TBR lists is always a difficult task {it’s a regular topic in The Broke and the Bookish’s lovely feature, Top Ten Tuesday}, but I fortunately found a good balance of middle grade and young adult books that just recently hit shelves or are coming out in the next few months. Despite the backlog of library books in my room and the pile of novels of my own still unread – avid bookworm I am – I’ve already put quite a few of these on hold. What would you like to read this spring?

Julia and the Art of Practical TravelAsk me to list my favorite childhood reads, and we could be here for days. Nevertheless, Lesley M. M. Blume’s Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters would surely be near the top {I think it was the advanced vocab that did me in :)}, which explains my delight in coming across her newest release, Julia and the Art of Practical Travel. It’s bound to have the same unforgettable characters and entertaining adventures!

Vanishing GirlsI can’t speak for Lauren Oliver’s talent in the young adult genre, but if her new novel, Vanishing Girls, is just as well written and creative as The Spindlers, I’m in for a good read. As any regular reader of Ciao Bella knows, I’m a sucker for mysteries and thrillers, so Oliver’s tale about “two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident” seems right up my alley.

GracefulI clearly wasn’t the only one to admit sadness when Wendy Mass announced the end of her ever-so popular Willow Falls series; so many fans wrote that she continued the story of Grace, Rory, and other friends in Graceful! I thought things ended well with book four, The Last Present, so I am both excited and curious to see how the plot plays out.

Scarlett UndercoverTwo things I’m quick to support when it comes to books are diverse characters and debut authors, so how could I pass Jennifer Latham’s novel, Scarlett Undercover up?! Her book is a mystery and showcases some fabulous typography on the cover, so I’m truly convinced I can’t go wrong.

Lost in the SunLisa Graff lacks far too much appreciation for her outstanding works of writing. She hit her last two releases, A Tangle of Knots and Absolutely Almost, out of the park, and it should be no different once Lost in the Sun is published! Several glowing reviews confirm my prediction: her characters leap off the pages, the plot explores a variety of complex themes, and yet, she still appeals to her middle grade audience. Thumbs up from me!

The Island of Dr. LibrisI love books that share, well, a love of books! I suspect Chris Grabenstein made many lifelong readers with Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, and if his next release is even as half as successful, The Island of Dr. Libris is sure to do the same. I can’t wait to join Billy on an action-packed, reading-filled adventure.

Things We Know By HeartJessi Kirby’s books have become young adult staples; never a week goes by without me seeing a mention of them on Twitter or a book blog! Kirby has a way with words, using them to portray a variety of emotions with a powerful touch. Things We Know by Heart, her next contemporary, sounds like a heavy, but ultimately touching, read – I’ll have tissues on hand.

Liars IncPaula Stokes knows my style – when am I not up for a good murder mystery?! This young adult novel comes out next week, and it starts with a creative and fascinating premise: Max “sells” lies to his classmates. If you doubt the complexity of this mystery, just take one good look at the cover. I’m in.

The Stars of SummerAlthough it’s only in March, I have complete confidence in declaring All Four Stars, by Tara Dairman, one of my favorite middle grade reads of the year! Its protagonist, Gladys Gatsby, an adorable aspiring restaurant reviewer and middle school student, returns in The Stars of Summer; the follow-up comes out in May, so it will be the perfect kick-off to my summer reading.

The Game of Love and DeathFinally, I’m already in love with Martha Brockenbrough’s new YA novel, The Game of Love and Death. The cover is incredibly well-done, it’s considered a historical fantasy romance {?!}, and it had received endless praise in early reviews. I’ll be quick to find my own copy once it hits shelves in April!

Have a lovely Tuesday!

B

16 thoughts on “My Spring 2015 TBR List

  1. Vanishing Girls is on my TBR, but I’ve never heard of the Game of Love and Death. I love both historical fiction and fantasy, so that one is definitely being added to my TBR immediately! Great list! :)

    Like

  2. Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters has been in my Amazon shopping cart for weeks! :) I’ll have to add Julia and the Art of Practical Travel now! I also had NO idea Wendy Mass was coming out with another book in the Willow Falls series. I started reading them about three years ago. Definitely need to get my hands on all of these books!!!

    Like

    • Oh, how funny! She’s an amazing author, and I hope you like Cornelia and Julia :) I was pleasantly surprised to hear about Wendy Mass’ new book as well; it’s so exciting!

      Like

Say Hello!

