The Top Nine 2014 Releases I Can’t Wait to Get To

Hi!Top Ten TuesdayAs much as it pains me to admit, I have to accept I will never get to all of the books on my TBR list {which only grows by the day}. Nevertheless, there are a few 2014 releases I’m hoping to get to sometime in the next twelve months; all of them come well-recommended by trusted bloggers or good friends. I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly Top Ten Tuesday to share my list. Are there any novels from 2014 that you didn’t get to but will read in 2015?

The Winner's CurseIf the cover of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse is any indiction, her 2014 release should be excellent! The second book in the series is set to hit shelves in March, so I would love to get to this one before spring.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava LavenderI’m in love with everything about Leslye Walton’s debut; the gorgeous cover, the intriguing synopsis, and with luck, the story itself! This was recently nominated for the Morris YA Debut Award, so I’ll be going in this year with high expectations.

The Infinite SeaWhy didn’t I read Rick Yancey’s follow-up to The Fifth Wave? Good question. While my anticipation for The Infinite Sea was high, I quickly realized a re-read of Book One might be in order first. Positive thinking, however, has me looking forward to a Fifth Wave marathon this year! :)

Rites of PassageJoy N. Hensley’s novel doesn’t sound like my typical read, but after reading a multitude of glowing reviews, I knew I couldn’t pass this 2014 release up. The military academy setting is sure to be an entertaining change of pace!

I'll Give You the SunJandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun was one of the most-talked about novels last fall, so I’m excited to see if it lives up to the hype. Praised by many, I can’t wait to see what I think about Nelson’s second novel {and I will hopefully find a copy of her debut, The Sky is Everywhere, too!}.

Yes PleaseI truly grew to love nonfiction in 2014, and I would love to read even more in this year! Yes, Please, a memoir written by popular comedian and all-too-cool feminist Amy Poehler, was released this past October, and I have had my eye on it ever since. Though there are near one hundred people ahead of me for it on the library list, I am determined to read it.

CressMarissa Meyer fan that I am, I’m so disappointed I didn’t read the third book in The Lunar Chronicles! It’s not a matter of getting a copy, thankfully {Cress has been sitting on my bookshelf since February!}, it’s finding the time. My goal? To read it by winter’s end.

Brown Girl DreamingIt’s just my luck: the week I return Woodson’s memoir unread due to an abundance of library books, it wins the National Book Award! Its newfound popularity made it difficult to grab it again in 2014, but I would love to find a copy soon, as my excitement has only increased since the announcement.

Ask Again LaterFinally, Liz Czukas’s sophomore novel, Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless, was my first read of 2015, and it only confirmed the fact that I need to give her other 2014 release a try! This prom-set novel looks adorable, and I can never pass up a light, fluffy novel come springtime.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “The Top Nine 2014 Releases I Can’t Wait to Get To

  1. Yes the cover of The Winner’s Curse is definitely indication. Though truth be told, I think the story exceeded what the cover did for me in my opinion. So you should definitely definitely read it!

    Like

  2. Cress is such a great book! I love the whole Cinder series and can’t wait until Fairest comes out this month! (And then Winter!)

    I also wanted to get around to The Winner’s Curse but didn’t manage to yet.

    Like

Say Hello!

