Making the Grade / Even in Paradise

Hi!

Making the GradeMy year in reading ended of on a good note; from Heidi Schulz’s adorable take on Neverland in Hook’s Revenge to Alison Cherry’s hilarious and entertaining story, For Real, I had no shortage of great novels to read in December {and, thankfully, this book streak is continuing into the new year}. I am slowly but surely writing reviews for my winter break reads – first up is Chelsey Philpot’s dazzling debut, Even in Paradise. My full thoughts are below!

Summary: When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the former senator’s daughter. Most people do or think they do. Charlotte certainly never expects she’ll be Julia’s friend. But almost immediately, she is drawn into the larger than-life-new girl’s world —a world of midnight rendezvous, dazzling parties, palatial vacation homes, and fizzy champagne cocktails. And then Charlotte meets, and begins falling for, Julia’s handsome older brother, Sebastian. But behind her self-assured smiles and toasts to the future, Charlotte soon realizes that Julia is still suffering from a tragedy. A tragedy that the Buchanan family has kept hidden… until now. {Goodreads}

Even in Paradise Making the GradeAround the Web: “Chelsey Philpot’s debut was wholly impressive — it was beautiful, enchanting, devastating and altogether bittersweet” {read the rest of the review at The Perpetual Page-Turner HERE}.

“The rest of the Buchanan family is rich, secretive, and acts like they are some exclusive club that no one can get in to. And yet I couldn’t put this book down” {read the rest of the review at Great Imaginations HERE}.

Even in Paradise reminded me of some of my favorite books, which is just about the highest compliment I can give a novel. With a very sort of timeless story and writing, Even in Paradise will be rolling around in my head for awhile” {read the rest of the review at Book.Blog.Bake. HERE}.

Let’s discuss! Have you given Even in Paradise a try? I read The Great Gatsby only a few weeks before I checked out Philpot’s debut, so the similarities were fresh in mind. After this successful read, I’m now on the lookout for other modern adaptations of Gatsby. We’ll see how that reading adventure goes!

Have a fabulous start to your week!

Bella

6 thoughts on “Making the Grade / Even in Paradise

  1. […] cheesy philpot: Even in Paradise, a debut by Chelsey Philpot, was another surprise when I checked it out late last year and a pleasant one at that! I have seen it advertised as The Great Gatsby meets YA, and I couldn’t agree more; the themes, characters, and stunning writing echo F. Scott Fitzgerald’s own classic. I would happily read it again if only to pick and dissect my favorite passages from the story. {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

