My Top Twelve Debuts of 2015

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayCreating my list of most anticipated releases made it clear for me that 2015 is going to be a year of good books, but finding 2015 debuts to look forward to only reinforced that fact! I often seek out debut novels, since there’s nothing I like better than a fabulous new author to recommend. Too difficult to narrow down, my Top Ten Tuesday list {a feature hosted by the lovely bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish} this week consists of twelve debuts I can’t wait to read in the coming months. What books made your list?

We All Looked UpEverything about Tommy Wallach’s debut seems is captivating, from its eye-catching cover to the intriguing synopsis. I can’t wait to read it this spring – the early reviews have promised an excellent read.

ValiantI used to read a lot of middle grade fantasy, but it’s been a long time since I’ve chosen a fairy tale over a contemporary. Nevertheless, I can’t wait to dive into Sarah McGuire’s debut when it hits shelves in June!

The Wrong Side of RightEndless glowing reviews, a stunning cover, and a complex story? I’m under the impression that you can’t of wrong with Jenn Marie Thorne’s debut, The Wrong Side of Right. You can be sure I’ll be reading this one in March.

The Night We Said YesIf Lauren Gibaldi managed to capture my interest with the synopsis of her debut, The Night We Said Yes, I can only imagine how much I’ll enjoy the story. I’m all for cute romances, so here’s hoping this is one I can rave about.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaOne of the two reading challenges I’m participating in this year is Dive Into Diversity in an effort to expand the types of characters and experiences I read about. Beck Albertalli’s Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda seems to fit the bill, and I would love to grab a copy once it’s released.

Pretending to Be EricaI’m still navigating my way around Goodreads after joining a few months ago, but if there’s one thing I’m a pro at, it’s growing my TBR shelf. Michelle Painchaud’s debut, Pretending To Be Erica, was one of the first novels I added, and I hope it lives up to my first impression of it.

OthergirlOthergirl, by Nicole Burstein, has plenty going for it; the bright cover, creative premise, and witty title are bound to entice readers! I have little doubts about this novel’s success once it’s released in April.

Murder is Bad MannersI’m a sucker for terrific middle grade mysteries, and I think I’ll be able to add Robin Stevens’ Murder is Bad Manners to my favorites list once it comes out. The story’s 193o’s setting already has me excited!

MosquitolandThe biggest lie I believe I’ve told is that I don’t judge books by their covers because I do it on the daily! Case in point? David Arnold’s Mosquitoland, which has a fantastic, fitting cover and an even better sounding story. I’ll be reading this debut when it releases in March!

Love Fortunes and Other DisastersThis cover and I were truly love at first sight; I can only hope the story has the same effect! While I would love to read this near Valentine’s Day {romances are perfect for that time of year, yes?! :)} I sadly have to wait until May for this debut.

ConvictionConviction, by Kelly Loy Gilbert, is one of the many novels I’ve seen declared a “must-read” of 2015. High-praise for a debut, right?! I hope it’s well-deserved, but in all truth, I can’t imagine why it wouldn’t be.

Between the NotesFinally, I love seeing the variety of ways authors include music in their work, from plot-inspired playlists to a musician as a main character, as in Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat. Similarly, I love reading and supporting debut authors. Perfect equation? I think yes :)

Have an amazing Tuesday!

Bella

7 thoughts on “My Top Twelve Debuts of 2015

  1. We All Looked Up looks so good! I normally don’t really like end-of-the-world stories, but this one seems like it will be really unique and interesting. And I love the cover!

    Like

Say Hello!

