Musical Moodboards / Elf

Hi!Musical MoodboardsWhen it comes to iconic Christmas movies, Elf is the first to come to mind. What is the holiday season without Buddy the Elf’s most memorable lines?! :) With the television special, Elf: Buddy’s Musical Christmas, coming up next Tuesday, it seemed like no better time than now to share a Musical Moodboard for the Broadway adaptation. For those new to the feature, Musical Moodboards was inspired by two things I love: graphic design and theater; each post has a visual collection of images, patterns, and colors related to a certain production {see Legally Blonde’s post here and the Bye Bye Birdie board here!}.

Elf Musical MoodboardSources: Santa and Cookies / North Pole Source Unknown / Winter Trees / New York Silhouette / Elf Food Groups {FYI: I tried my best to provide you with the most accurate and updated sources, but please let me know of any problems or mistakes!}

I was lucky enough to attend a production of Elf when it toured nationally a few years ago, and it remains one of my favorite shows to have seen. The holiday fan that I am, the elf jokes {elves’ four main food groups always makes me laugh} and Christmas songs pleased me to no end, while the North Pole and New York City sets interested my stage manager side. If there’s one thing this show did best, however, it would be its use of color. The bright costumes, the colorful props, and even the saturated lighting cues worked to the musical’s advantage, something I kept in mind while choosing images. The only thing left before this moodboard was complete? A smiling Santa and cheerful gingerbread men, of course.

Let’s discuss! Have you seen Elf: The Musical? What is your favorite holiday film? Elf will always hold a special place in my heart, but if we’re talking Christmas specials too, I can never get enough of Prep and Landing and Santa Claus Is Coming to Town.

Have a festive Thursday!
Bella

Say Hello!

