Making the Grade / Jackaby

Hi!

Making the GradeWith a number of positive reviews still growing and comparisons to popular television shows Sherlock and Doctor Who, William Ritter’s Jackaby seems to have been one of the most discussed YA releases of the fall. More importantly? The novel is just as good as the reviews promise. I don’t typically gravitate towards paranormal or supernatural books, so when I give high praise to such a book, it’s certainly worth giving it a try :) The blog feature Making the Grade is making an appearance again, and you can read my full thoughts of Ritter’s debut below!

Summary: Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary – including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain it’s a nonhuman creature, whose existence the police – with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane – deny. {Goodreads}

JackabyLet’s discuss! From what I can tell, Ritter is already in the midst of writing a Jackaby sequel, which I will definitely grab. Have you read Jackaby at all? What were your thoughts? I’ve heard it’s similar to The Screaming Staircase, a 2013 release by Jonathan Stroud – yet another book I will have to check out!

Have a lovely Wednesday!

Bella

2 thoughts on “Making the Grade / Jackaby

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard some mixed things about it so I wasn’t sure if I should or not. I think part of it is that it’s so hyped up that people tend to expect too much. But after reading your review I definitely think I’m going to at least give it a try :)

    Like

  2. […] William Ritter’s debut, Jackaby, was declared a must-read for Sherlock fans, so it was no surprise I enjoyed it so much when I read it in the fall. What I was shocked at? The release of a sequel so soon! Beastly Bones continues Ritter’s entertaining blend of mystery, science fiction, and historical fiction as Abigail Rook and R.F. Jackaby take on another case. I think it will be the perfect read for Halloween. {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

